Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Use Catalogs & Databases

Detailed step-by-step instructions (with screenshots) for using the library's catalogs and databases

How to Find Videos

Places where you can find streaming videos.

Charger Search: All Library Databases

Charger Search: All Library Databases is a broad tool for searching multiple library resources at once. Gather information from books and ebooks; articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; theses/dissertations; reports; reference works; & more. This search system will mix the different types of sources into one list of search results.

Here's a link:

Searching from the Basic Search Page (Main Page)

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

screenshot of Charger Search basic search page

  1. Access library services, such as Ask a Librarian, and Advanced Search from menu icon
  2. Enter search terms in the search box and click the Search button

Searching from the Advanced Search Page

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

screenshot of Charger Search advanced search page

  1. Change "All Fields" drop-down to search by title, author, etc.
  2. Enter search term(s) in box(es)
  3. Change "AND" drop-down box to adjust AND, OR, NOT options to search for all words, any words, or exclude words
  4. Click the "Add a row" link to add more search box rows, if needed
  5. Publication date range: enter dates to limit results by date
  6. Show content type: check box(es) to limit by content type, such as book, ebook, article, etc.
  7. Language: click the drop-down to limit results by language
  8. Show only: check box(es) to limit by full text, peer review, etc.
  9. Exclude from results: check box(es) to exclude specific types of sources from the results, such as newspaper articles, book reviews, etc.
  10. Expand your results: check the box to include results that the library doesn't have; this can be useful for knowing what else may be available and making interlibrary loan requests
  11. Click the "Clear Form" link if you need to clear the options and start over
  12. Click the "Back to basic search" link to return to the basic search page (main page)
  13. Click the Search button to start the search

Reviewing the Search Results

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

screenshot of Charger Search results page

  1. From the top:
    • Use the search box to tweak search terms, if needed
    • Click the link for the Advanced Search, if more detailed tweaks are needed
    • Click on the folder icon for saved items (articles, ebooks, etc.)
    • Click on the menu icon for additional services
    • Look at the number of results to see if there are too few or too many
    • Click on the "Relevance" link to change the sorting option to sort by date
    • Check the box for "Add results beyond your library's collection" to show items that might be useful to request from interlibrary loan
  2. From the left-side menu:
    • Refine your source: click on options to refine results by source characteristics (full text, peer-review, etc.)
    • Content type: click on options to limit the results by content type (newspaper article, book/ebook, journal article, etc.)
    • Discipline: click on options to limit results by subject or discipline; click on the "More" link to show the full list of disciplines/subjects available
    • Publication date: enter dates to limit results to items published within a specific date range
    • Subject terms: click on options to limit results by subject terms, which are related to how the sources are indexed or categorized
    • Language: if sources are in several languages, options will appear to limit the results
  3. From the right-side options:
    • Look for definitions from Encyclopædia Britannica
    • A Related Topics section will suggest topics or phrases that the system thinks are related to your search terms; may be useful for adjusting the search when the results aren't quite right
  4. For each source:
    • Click on the "Preview" link to view a preview of the source (a panel will open below the source's title)
    • Icons: there are several icons with additional options
      • Click on the quotation mark (citation icon) for the citation generator
      • Click on the email icon to email the source information to yourself or someone else
      • Click on the folder icon to save the source to your account
      • click on the ellipses icon to export the source information to a citation manager (Zotero, etc.)
    • Availability: look for the availability or source location information
      • for print books, this will be a call number to locate the book in the library
      • for electronic sources (ebooks, articles, etc.), this will be a link to the database that has the source
    • Source title link: click on the title of the source to go to the full text for that source
      • for print books, the link will go to the library catalog

Previewing a Source

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

screenshot of Charger Search preview panel

  1. Click on the "Preview" link to view a preview of the source
  2. If the source is an article, an abstract will appear. Otherwise, a brief excerpt from a book or longer source will appear
  3. There will also be source information that will be using for citing your source or locating print sources - publication date, call number, etc.
  4. Click on the "Permanent Link" link to view a permanent link to the source in Charger Search: All Library Database. This link will always work. (Copying the URL from the location bar in the browser won't always work because those URLs tend to time out.)
  5. Click on the "Preview" link again to close the preview

Ambrose Digital Streaming Video logoAmbrose Digital Streaming Video (BBC Shakespeare Plays) is a video database that provides access to streaming video of 37 Shakespeare plays.

Here's a link:

Under construction.

Alexander Street logoThe Alexander Street databases provide access to streaming video in three collections: American history, theatre, and world history.

Here are links:

Searching from the Basic Search Page (Main Page)

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Alexander Street video databases basic search page

  1. Search All Content = search all the Alexander Street collections
  2. Help icon = go to the Help page
  3. Search box = enter search terms to search within the collection
  4. Advanced Search = go to the Advanced Search page
  5. Left menu = shows which collection you're in
  6. Browse = select other categories to browse
  7. People = browse by people
  8. Genres = browse by genre
  9. What's New = view new uploaded videos

Searching from the Advanced Search Page

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Alexander Street video databases advanced search page

  1. Search All Content = search all the Alexander Street collections
  2. Help icon = go to the Help page
  3. Disciplines = select a discipline to search; or, choose All Disciplines
  4. Search = click the Search button to search
  5. Clear = click the Clear link to clear options and start over
  6. Enter search words in related box (title in the title box, playwright in the playwright box, etc.)
  7. Click "Select terms" to view a list of terms already created for each category.
    • Example: Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616
  8. Limit results according to:
    • Collection
    • Area of Interest
    • Content Type
    • Language
    • Date Published or Released
    • Date Written or Recorded
  9. Change sorting options using the Relevance drop-down box

Reviewing the Search Results

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Alexander Street video databases search results page

  1. From the left menu:
    • Change the toggle to include sample content (not subscribed)
    • Limit to a specific sub-section of the main topic
    • Limit by collection categories:
      • Content Type
      • Production Company
      • Director / Producer
      • Performer
      • Genre
      • Subject
      • Date Written / Recorded
      • Publisher
      • Date Published / Released
      • Language
  2. From the main section:
    • Search box = search within results or change search by searching in the collection
    • Title/Album drop-down = view Title/Album or Segment/Track
    • Relevance drop-down = change sorting options
    • Click the linked title to view the video
    • The details about the video are below the title
    • A brief description follows the details
    • See details = hover mouse to see more details about the video
    • Click the plus, envelope, and share icons to save to list, email, or share

Previewing a Video Description

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Alexander Street video database preview pop-up window

  1. See details = hover mouse to see more details about the video
  2. Details about the video: description, author, date written/recorded, performers, etc.
  3. Options to work with the video: cite, email, add to playlist, share, embed/link, etc.

Viewing the Full Video

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Alexander Street video databases video record page

  1. Left side:
    • Video player
    • Video controls: includes volume, closed captioning, etc.
    • Title and description
    • Options to cite, email, share, add to playlist, embed/link, etc.
  2. Right side:
    • Move between tabs for:
      • Details
      • Tracks
      • Transcript
      • Clips
      • Related Documents
    • Transcript follows along with the video; blue highlight shows the current point in the video

Films on Demand logoFilms on Demand is a video database that provides access to streaming video on a variety of topics.

Here's a link:

Searching from the Basic Search Page (Main Page)

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Films on Demand basic search page

  1. Menu icon = go to main menu
  2. My Films = go to account page
  3. Help = go to help menu
  4. Enter search words in search box
  5. Advanced Search link = go to Advanced Search page
  6. Most Popular = browse popular videos
  7. Recently Added = browse recently added videos
  8. Browse Featured Producers = browse by producer
  9. Browse Subjects = browse by subject
  10. Featured this Month = browse featured collections

Searching from the Advanced Search Page

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Films on Demand advanced search page

  1. Enter search words in search boxes
  2. Change AND, OR, NOT options if needed
  3. Click the "Add Row" link to add a search row
  4. Click the "Clear / Reset" link to clear the form and start over
  5. Search Options
    • Video = select content type (only option is video)
    • All Asset Type = change asset type, such as documentary, interview, newsreel, etc.
    • Choose Filters = choose a filter according to:
      • subject
      • producer
      • copyright date
      • language
      • format
    • Advanced Filters = filter to show only:
      • closed captioned
      • videos with related resources
      • videos with interactive transcripts
      • new videos
      • videos in HD
  6. Click the Search button to start the search

Reviewing the Search Results

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Films on Demand search results page

  1. Menu icon = go to main menu
  2. Save Search = save the search in the folder
  3. Search Results For = view the search words
  4. View number of search results
  5. Sorted by = change sorting options
  6. Click linked title to go to video
  7. Video format displayed below title (segment, series, full video)
    • If a video is part of a series, a link to the series will be listed below the video format
  8. View brief description below format
  9. Options to use the video: share, embed, add to playlist
  10. Filters = open the categories to filter results according to:
    • Source
    • Format
    • Subject
    • Producer
    • Video type
    • Language
    • Copyright Date

Viewing the Full Video

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Films on Demand video record page

Films on Demand transcript section

  1. Search Results = click link to return to search results page
  2. Video controls = volume, closed captioning, etc.
  3. Options to use video: share, cite, embed, link, etc.
  4. Description = full description of the video
  5. Tags = click tag to search by tag
  6. Right menu: video, details, transcript
    • Video = information about the program, links to segments
    • Details = details about the video
    • Transcript = interactive transcript
      • bar at the top shows progress
      • words are highlighted in blue as they're spoken in the video

Medcom Trainex logoMedcom/Trainex Health Sciences Videos is a video database that provides access to over 200 streaming videos for nursing and other health sciences.

Here's a link:

Searching from the Basic Search Page (Main Page)

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

  1. Home or Course = click to return to main page
  2. Enter search words in search box
  3. Clear Search = clear the search to start over
  4. Click on links to view video(s)

Reviewing the Search Results

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

MedcomTrainex search results page

  1. As enter search words, the system searches while you type (no need to click a search button)
  2. The search results appear in the list format
  3. Click on a title to view the video (will open in a pop-up window)

Viewing the Full Video

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

MedcomTrainex video page

  1. Title of the video appears in the top bar and the top of the video player
  2. Click on the "X" icon to close the video window
  3. The left menu provides the contents
  4. Click on section titles to view specific sections
  5. Click the "?" icon to go to the help menu
  6. Click the left and right arrows to move backward or forward in the video

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.