Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Use Catalogs & Databases

Detailed step-by-step instructions (with screenshots) for using the library's catalogs and databases

How to Find Books

Places where you can find print books.

Charger Search: All Library Databases

Charger Search: All Library Databases is a broad tool for searching multiple library resources at once. Gather information from books and ebooks; articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; theses/dissertations; reports; reference works; & more. This search system will mix the different types of sources into one list of search results.

Here's a link:

Searching from the Basic Search Page (Main Page)

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

screenshot of Charger Search basic search page

  1. Access library services, such as Ask a Librarian, and Advanced Search from menu icon
  2. Enter search terms in the search box and click the Search button

Searching from the Advanced Search Page

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

screenshot of Charger Search advanced search page

  1. Change "All Fields" drop-down to search by title, author, etc.
  2. Enter search term(s) in box(es)
  3. Change "AND" drop-down box to adjust AND, OR, NOT options to search for all words, any words, or exclude words
  4. Click the "Add a row" link to add more search box rows, if needed
  5. Publication date range: enter dates to limit results by date
  6. Show content type: check box(es) to limit by content type, such as book, ebook, article, etc.
  7. Language: click the drop-down to limit results by language
  8. Show only: check box(es) to limit by full text, peer review, etc.
  9. Exclude from results: check box(es) to exclude specific types of sources from the results, such as newspaper articles, book reviews, etc.
  10. Expand your results: check the box to include results that the library doesn't have; this can be useful for knowing what else may be available and making interlibrary loan requests
  11. Click the "Clear Form" link if you need to clear the options and start over
  12. Click the "Back to basic search" link to return to the basic search page (main page)
  13. Click the Search button to start the search

Reviewing the Search Results

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

screenshot of Charger Search results page

  1. From the top:
    • Use the search box to tweak search terms, if needed
    • Click the link for the Advanced Search, if more detailed tweaks are needed
    • Click on the folder icon for saved items (articles, ebooks, etc.)
    • Click on the menu icon for additional services
    • Look at the number of results to see if there are too few or too many
    • Click on the "Relevance" link to change the sorting option to sort by date
    • Check the box for "Add results beyond your library's collection" to show items that might be useful to request from interlibrary loan
  2. From the left-side menu:
    • Refine your source: click on options to refine results by source characteristics (full text, peer-review, etc.)
    • Content type: click on options to limit the results by content type (newspaper article, book/ebook, journal article, etc.)
    • Discipline: click on options to limit results by subject or discipline; click on the "More" link to show the full list of disciplines/subjects available
    • Publication date: enter dates to limit results to items published within a specific date range
    • Subject terms: click on options to limit results by subject terms, which are related to how the sources are indexed or categorized
    • Language: if sources are in several languages, options will appear to limit the results
  3. From the right-side options:
    • Look for definitions from Encyclopædia Britannica
    • A Related Topics section will suggest topics or phrases that the system thinks are related to your search terms; may be useful for adjusting the search when the results aren't quite right
  4. For each source:
    • Click on the "Preview" link to view a preview of the source (a panel will open below the source's title)
    • Icons: there are several icons with additional options
      • Click on the quotation mark (citation icon) for the citation generator
      • Click on the email icon to email the source information to yourself or someone else
      • Click on the folder icon to save the source to your account
      • click on the ellipses icon to export the source information to a citation manager (Zotero, etc.)
    • Availability: look for the availability or source location information
      • for print books, this will be a call number to locate the book in the library
      • for electronic sources (ebooks, articles, etc.), this will be a link to the database that has the source
    • Source title link: click on the title of the source to go to the full text for that source
      • for print books, the link will go to the library catalog

Previewing a Source

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

screenshot of Charger Search preview panel

  1. Click on the "Preview" link to view a preview of the source
  2. If the source is an article, an abstract will appear. Otherwise, a brief excerpt from a book or longer source will appear
  3. There will also be source information that will be using for citing your source or locating print sources - publication date, call number, etc.
  4. Click on the "Permanent Link" link to view a permanent link to the source in Charger Search: All Library Database. This link will always work. (Copying the URL from the location bar in the browser won't always work because those URLs tend to time out.)
  5. Click on the "Preview" link again to close the preview

Library Catalog logoSearch the Library Catalog to find print books at Columbia State Community College. There are sections for Course Reserves and New Books. Logging in to My Account area gives you the option to renew materials.

Here's a link:

Searching from the Basic Search Page (Main Page)

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Library Catalog basic search page

  1. From the top account navigation:
    • Options for search, saved searches, saved sources, and account
    • Click the Help link for help topics
  2. From the catalog menu:
    • Options for basic search, advanced search, subject search, author search, course reserves, and new book search
  3. From the search area:
    • Enter terms in search box
    • Click "All Fields" drop-down to search within a specific field, such as title, author, etc.
    • Click "All Materials" drop-down to select specific collection or location
    • Choose how many sources appear on the results page
    • Click the Search button to search

Searching from the Advanced Search Page

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Library Catalog advanced search page

  1. Enter search terms in the boxes
  2. Click the "any of these" drop-down box to specify if words within the search box will be searched as "any," "all," or a phrase
  3. Click the "Keyword Anywhere" drop-down box to adjust the field being searched - such as keyword, title, author, etc.
  4. Click the "AND" drop-down box to change the AND, OR, NOT options between each search box
  5. Options to limit results:
    • Year = recent range, specific date range
    • Location = library location
    • Place = geographic location
    • Type = source type (book, map, etc.)
    • Status = currently published, ceased publication
    • Format = source format (video, microform, etc.)
    • Language = language
  6. Choose how many sources will be in the results page
  7. Click the Search button to search

Searching from the Subject Search Page

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Library Catalog subject search page

  1. Enter search terms to only search within subject headings
  2. Click the Search button to search

Searching from the Author Search Page

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Library Catalog author search page

  1. Enter author's last name and initials or first name to search by author
  2. Click Search button to search

Searching from the Course Reserves Search Page

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Library Catalog course reserves page 1

Library Catalog course reserves page 2

Library Catalog course reserves page 3

Library Catalog course reserves page 4

  1. Select Locations section:
    • Select a reserve location
    • Click on the Submit button
  2. Course Reserve Browse section:
    • Click the "Change Location" link to switch to a difference location
    • Instructor line: Click a letter to browse by instructor
    • Department line: Click a letter to browse by department
    • Course line: Click a letter to browse by course
  3. Course Reserve Instructor Page section:
    • Click the "Change Location" link to switch to a different location
    • Click a linked course name to select a course
  4. Course Reserve results page:
    • Double-check information for course and department match
    • Locate call number and location to find course reserve

Searching from the New Books Search Page

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Library Catalog new books page

  1. Select a library location
  2. Choose how new the items would be (one month to four months)
  3. Enter search terms, if needed (not necessary for this search)
  4. Click Search button to search

Viewing Account Information & Renewing Items

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Library Catalog account page 1

Library Catalog account page 2

  1. Log In page:
    • Enter ID number
    • Enter last name
    • Click Log in button
  2. My Account page:
    • View Personal Information = edit account information
    • Edit Preferences = edit preferences
    • Your Items = box showing how many items are checked out
    • Check the box next to "Select All" to select all checked out items
    • Check individual boxes to select individual items
    • Click the "Request Renewal" button after selecting items to be renewed
    • Status column = view each item's status (charged, renewed, etc.)
    • Due Date column = see when an item is due

WorldCat logoWorldCat is a catalog that collections information from libraries around the world. This version searches books available at Columbia State Community College or from all libraries. WorldCat is useful for checking to see what books are available at local public libraries, or whether an interlibrary loan might be a good option for a book that isn't available locally.

Here's a link:

Searching from the Basic Search Page (Main Page)

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

WorldCat basic search page

  1. Click the Library Links drop-down to go to the library's homepage
  2. Enter search terms and click the search button to search
  3. Click the Advanced Search link to go to the advanced search page

Searching from the Advanced Search Page

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

WorldCat advanced search page

  1. Enter search terms in search boxes
  2. Change drop-down boxes to adjust fields (keyword, title, etc.)
  3. Change AND, OR, NOT options (if needed)
  4. Click "Add row" button to add a search box row
  5. Click Clear button to clear search and start over
  6. Click Search button to start search
  7. Options to limit search results:
    • Check box for only peer-reviewed articles
    • Format = limit to format type (journal, book, etc.)
    • Year = limit to year or date range
    • Language = limit to specific language
    • Audience = choose juvenile or not
    • Content = choose fiction, nonfiction, etc.

Viewing the Search Results

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

WorldCat results page

  1. From the left-side menu:
    • Choose which libraries to search
    • Check box to limit to peer-reviewed articles
    • Check box(es) to limit to specified source formats
    • Choose which databases to search
    • Check box(es) to limit to specific authors
    • Select options to limit to specific dates or date ranges
    • Check box(es) to limit to specific languages
    • Check box(es) to limit to specific topics, subjects, or disciplines
  2. From the results list:
    • Click the source title to view details about the source
    • Select options to share, cite, and save the source

Viewing Source Information

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

WorldCat record page

  1. From the source section:
    • Basic information about the source is at the top
    • Click the "Close Item Detail" link to return to the results list
    • Select options to share, cite, and save the source
    • Click the Description link to view details about the source, including abstract and citation information
    • Click Editions & Formats to see different editions/formats available for the source
    • Enter zip code to find local libraries that have the source
  2. From the left-side menu:
    • The next sources from the results list appear in the menu
    • Click on an item to view it in the source section

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.