Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Use Catalogs & Databases

Detailed step-by-step instructions (with screenshots) for using the library's catalogs and databases

How to Find eBooks

Places where you can find electronic books.

Charger Search: All Library Databases

Charger Search: All Library Databases is a broad tool for searching multiple library resources at once. Gather information from books and ebooks; articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; theses/dissertations; reports; reference works; & more. This search system will mix the different types of sources into one list of search results.

Here's a link:

Searching from the Basic Search Page (Main Page)

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

screenshot of Charger Search basic search page

  1. Access library services, such as Ask a Librarian, and Advanced Search from menu icon
  2. Enter search terms in the search box and click the Search button

Searching from the Advanced Search Page

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

screenshot of Charger Search advanced search page

  1. Change "All Fields" drop-down to search by title, author, etc.
  2. Enter search term(s) in box(es)
  3. Change "AND" drop-down box to adjust AND, OR, NOT options to search for all words, any words, or exclude words
  4. Click the "Add a row" link to add more search box rows, if needed
  5. Publication date range: enter dates to limit results by date
  6. Show content type: check box(es) to limit by content type, such as book, ebook, article, etc.
  7. Language: click the drop-down to limit results by language
  8. Show only: check box(es) to limit by full text, peer review, etc.
  9. Exclude from results: check box(es) to exclude specific types of sources from the results, such as newspaper articles, book reviews, etc.
  10. Expand your results: check the box to include results that the library doesn't have; this can be useful for knowing what else may be available and making interlibrary loan requests
  11. Click the "Clear Form" link if you need to clear the options and start over
  12. Click the "Back to basic search" link to return to the basic search page (main page)
  13. Click the Search button to start the search

Reviewing the Search Results

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

screenshot of Charger Search results page

  1. From the top:
    • Use the search box to tweak search terms, if needed
    • Click the link for the Advanced Search, if more detailed tweaks are needed
    • Click on the folder icon for saved items (articles, ebooks, etc.)
    • Click on the menu icon for additional services
    • Look at the number of results to see if there are too few or too many
    • Click on the "Relevance" link to change the sorting option to sort by date
    • Check the box for "Add results beyond your library's collection" to show items that might be useful to request from interlibrary loan
  2. From the left-side menu:
    • Refine your source: click on options to refine results by source characteristics (full text, peer-review, etc.)
    • Content type: click on options to limit the results by content type (newspaper article, book/ebook, journal article, etc.)
    • Discipline: click on options to limit results by subject or discipline; click on the "More" link to show the full list of disciplines/subjects available
    • Publication date: enter dates to limit results to items published within a specific date range
    • Subject terms: click on options to limit results by subject terms, which are related to how the sources are indexed or categorized
    • Language: if sources are in several languages, options will appear to limit the results
  3. From the right-side options:
    • Look for definitions from Encyclopædia Britannica
    • A Related Topics section will suggest topics or phrases that the system thinks are related to your search terms; may be useful for adjusting the search when the results aren't quite right
  4. For each source:
    • Click on the "Preview" link to view a preview of the source (a panel will open below the source's title)
    • Icons: there are several icons with additional options
      • Click on the quotation mark (citation icon) for the citation generator
      • Click on the email icon to email the source information to yourself or someone else
      • Click on the folder icon to save the source to your account
      • click on the ellipses icon to export the source information to a citation manager (Zotero, etc.)
    • Availability: look for the availability or source location information
      • for print books, this will be a call number to locate the book in the library
      • for electronic sources (ebooks, articles, etc.), this will be a link to the database that has the source
    • Source title link: click on the title of the source to go to the full text for that source
      • for print books, the link will go to the library catalog

Previewing a Source

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

screenshot of Charger Search preview panel

  1. Click on the "Preview" link to view a preview of the source
  2. If the source is an article, an abstract will appear. Otherwise, a brief excerpt from a book or longer source will appear
  3. There will also be source information that will be using for citing your source or locating print sources - publication date, call number, etc.
  4. Click on the "Permanent Link" link to view a permanent link to the source in Charger Search: All Library Database. This link will always work. (Copying the URL from the location bar in the browser won't always work because those URLs tend to time out.)
  5. Click on the "Preview" link again to close the preview

EBSCO logoEBSCO eBook Academic Collection includes over 200,000 eBooks on a variety of topics. The large selection of multidisciplinary e-books represents a broad range of academic subjects, including art, business and economics, education, language arts and discipline,literary criticism, medical, performing arts, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, social science, technology and engineering, and other academic fields.

Here's a link:

Searching from the Basic Search Page (Main Page)

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

EBSCO eBook Academic Collection basic search page

  1. From top bar:
    • New Search = start a new search
    • Dictionary = dictionary of terms
    • Ebooks = browse by category
    • Sign In = log in to personal account (required for downloading ebooks)
    • Folder = save information
    • Preferences = set preferences
    • Languages = select language
    • Help = help menu
  2. Search area:
    • Click Choose Databases to select an EBSCO database
    • Enter search words in search box
    • Click the Search button to start the search
    • Click the Create Alert button to crease search alerts
    • Switch between Basic Search, Advanced Search, and Search History
  3. Search Options:
    • Click the Reset button to start over
    • Search modes and expanders: these options help to increase the search results by including related words or synonyms and searching in more places related to the source (including within the source itself, instead of just subject terms and titles, etc.)
      • Search modes:
        • Boolean/Phrase = AND, OR, NOT and phrase search
        • All search terms = AND
        • Any search terms = OR
        • SmartText Searching = creates a summarized search based on large amounts of text
      • Any related words: check to use related words
      • Also search within the full text of the article: check to search within full text of the source (ebook)
      • Apply equivalent subjects: check to search in subjects that have same meaning
    • Limit results: these options help to narrow the number of search results
      • Full Text = check the box to limit to ebooks available in full text
      • Published Date = enter dates to limit results by date
      • Title = enter a title to limit results by title
      • Download Available = check the box to limit to ebooks available to download
      • Author = enter an author name to limit results by author
      • ISBN = enter an ISBN to limit results by ISBN
    • Click the Search button to start the search

Searching from the Advanced Search Page

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

EBSCO eBook Academic Collection advanced search page

  1. Enter search words in search box
  2. Click the Search button to start the search
  3. Click the Create Alert button to crease search alerts
  4. Search Options:
    • Click the Reset button to start over
    • Search modes and expanders: these options help to increase the search results by including related words or synonyms and searching in more places related to the source (including within the source itself, instead of just subject terms and titles, etc.)
      • Search modes:
        • Boolean/Phrase = AND, OR, NOT and phrase search
        • All search terms = AND
        • Any search terms = OR
        • SmartText Searching = creates a summarized search based on large amounts of text
      • Any related words: check to use related words
      • Also search within the full text of the article: check to search within full text of the source (ebook)
      • Apply equivalent subjects: check to search in subjects that have same meaning
    • Limit results: these options help to narrow the number of search results
      • Full Text = check the box to limit to ebooks available in full text
      • Published Date = enter dates to limit results by date
      • Title = enter a title to limit results by title
      • Exclude Abridged Titles = check the box to exclude abridged (shortened) versions of ebooks
      • ISBN = enter an ISBN to limit results by ISBN
      • Download Available = check the box to limit to ebooks available to download
      • Author = enter an author name to limit results by author
      • Publisher = enter publisher name to limit results by publisher
      • Language = select a language to limit results by language
    • Click the Search button to start the search

Reviewing the Search Results

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

EBSCO eBook Academic Collection search results page

  1. From the left-side menu:
    • The Current Search area displays the details for the current search, including the search words and any limiters or expanders that were used
    • Limit To = options to limit results by:
      • full text
      • downloadable ebook
      • excluding abridged versions
      • date
    • Source Types = select specific source types (usually only ebooks in this database)
    • Additional categories = click each section to select specific options for:
      • Subject
      • Publisher
      • Language
      • Category
  2. From the search results area:
    • The linked title goes to the ebook record page (the main page about the ebook)
    • Information about the book appears directly below the title: author, publisher, date, subject terms, etc.
    • Options to use the ebook appear below the description:
      • PDF Full Text = click to view PDF
      • Download = download to ebook reader or computer
      • Table of Contents = jump to the linked table to contents
      • Most Relevant Pages From This eBook = pages that have the words that were searched (if selected the option to search within full text)
    • Magnifying glass icon = click this icon to view the abstract
    • Folder icon = click this icon to save information about the ebook to your folder

Viewing the Full Text of an eBook

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

EBSCO eBook Academic Collection ebook record page

  1. From the left-side menu:
    • Select options to view the full text of the ebook: PDF or download
    • Related Information = click links to go to relevant pages and the table of contents (or, scroll down the page)
  2. The title of the book appears at the top
  3. Information about the ebook appears below the title: author, publisher, location, date, description, subject terms, ISBN, etc.
  4. Tools = options for working with the ebook (print, email, save, cite, export, permanent link, etc.)
  5. Most Relevant Pages From This eBook = results from searching within the full text of the source; provides recommended sections that are related to the search terms, or that include the search terms
  6. Table of Contents = click on the plus signs to view chapter titles within each part

R2 Digital Library logoR2 Digital Library is a web-based database that offers fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing, and allied health source book content from key health science publishers.

Here's a link:

Searching from the Basic Search Page (Main Page)

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

R2 Digital Library basic search page

  1. The upper-left corner has a menu to select options for browse, A-Z index, or saved items
  2. Enter search terms in the search box
  3. Click on the link for Advanced Options
  4. Browse titles by alphabetical order
  5. Choose what to include in the search: active, archive, or table of contents
  6. Browse by publication title, discipline, author, or publisher
  7. Or, browse according to practice area

Searching from the Advanced Options

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

R2 Digital Library advanced search page

  1. Enter search terms in the search box
  2. Add options to narrow search according to:
    • author
    • book title
    • publisher
    • editor
    • ISBN
  3. Choose what to include: active, archive, or table of contents
  4. Limit by publication date
  5. Click the Search button to start the search
  6. Click the Clear link to start over

Reviewing the Search Results

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

R2 Digital Library search results page

  1. The Current Search section displays the current search terms
  2. Navigate through the pages of search results using the "Jump to page" section at the top
  3. View the number of results and recommended terms
  4. The "Show results from" section provides options to narrow results according to source type
  5. The "Filter by" section provides options to filter results by practice area, publication date, discipline, and more
  6. The "Search elsewhere" section provides options to repeat the search in PubMed or via MeSH terms

Viewing the Full Text of an eBook

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

R2 Digital Library ebook record page

  1. From the top bar:
    • Browse/Search this Title: click on drop-down to browse/search the full ebook
    • Topics: click on drop-down to browse the full ebook by topic (similar to using an index)
    • Tools: click on drop-down to use tools such as print, save, cite, etc.
  2. Navigate throughout the full ebook by clicking on the contents links (provides details showing where in the book the section is from)
  3. Go back to the previous section by clicking on the Previous link
  4. The title of the book is at the top of the page
  5. The title of the section is below the title of the book

Safari Tech Books Online logoSafari Tech Books Online provides access to more than 21,000 digital books and videos for students, programmers, IT professionals, and others on topics ranging from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy.

Here's a link:

Searching from the Basic Search Page (Main Page)

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Safari Tech Books Online basic search page

  1. Enter search terms in the search box at the top right corner
  2. View all ebooks by clicking on the View All Titles button
  3. Browse ebooks according to category
  4. Browse ebooks according to publisher
  5. View new ebooks by clicking on the More Just Added button
  6. View popular ebooks by clicking on the Titles by Popularity button

Reviewing the Search Results

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Safari Tech Books Online search results page

  1. From the left-side menu:
    • Limit results by category
    • Limit results by publication year
    • Limit results by author
    • Limit results by publisher
    • Limit results by language
  2. From the results section:
    • Adjust the search by searching within the results
    • Change the sorting options by clicking on the Sort By drop-down
    • Navigate to other pages of results by clicking on the page numbers
    • Click the chapter title to view full text
    • Preview the text of the ebook section below the title
    • Click on the "More Results From This Book" link to see more results (usually additional chapters or sections)

Viewing the Full Text of an eBook

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

Safari Tech Books Online ebook record page

  1. From the left-side menu:
    • The ebook's cover and title are at the top of the menu
    • Search within the ebook
    • Review the table of contents
    • The current section in the text viewer is formatted in bold in the table of contents
  2. From the text viewer:
    • Click the Return to Search Results link to go back to the search results
    • Check the bos for "Show Search Terms" to highlight the search terms in the text
    • The full text of the section will appear in the text viewer

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.