Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Use Catalogs & Databases

Detailed step-by-step instructions (with screenshots) for using the library's catalogs and databases

How to Find Newspaper Articles

Places where you can find newspaper articles.

We have access to multiple Gale Databases that have newspapers in them.

They are listed below

How to Find Newspapers in Gale Databases

  1. Underneath the main search bar, click on the "Publication Search" button »
  2. Underneath the "Publication Search" heading, click on the "List All Publications" link »
  3. To the right of the search results, under the "Refine Results" heading, look for "Publication Format." »
  4. Click on the + to the right of "Publication Format." This will expand that section downward to display all publication formats.»
  5. Find "Newspaper" in the list and click on it. »
  6. The results list will now only display publications which are newspapers.»

ProQuest database logoWe have two newspaper databases from ProQuest:

New York Times Newspaper Historical Edition provides access to the full digital copy of The New York Times from 1851 to 2013.

Tennessean Newspaper (Nashville) provides access to articles from The Tennessean from 2002 to the present.

Here are links to the databases:

Searching from the Basic Search Page (Main Page)

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

ProQuest newspaper databases basic search page

  1. Basic Search = go to the Basic Search page
  2. Advanced Search = go to the Advanced Search page
  3. Enter search words in the search box
  4. Check the Full text box to limit results to full-text articles

Searching from the Advanced Search Page

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

ProQuest newspaper databases advanced search page

  1. Search area:
    • Enter search words in search boxes
    • Change AND, OR, NOT options as needed
    • Change drop-down options to determine where to search (title, author, etc.)
    • Click "Add a row" link to add a search row
    • Check box to limit to Full Text
    • Publication Date: choose whether to limit to specific date or date range, if needed
    • Click the Search button to start the search
    • Click the "Clear form" link to reset the form and start over
  2. More search options:
    • Subject heading (all) = look up words in subject headings
    • Company/organization = look up words in companies/organizations
    • Person = look up words as people
    • Location = look up words as locations
    • NAICS = look up NAICS codes
    • Document type = check document types to include in the search
    • Sort results by = change sorting options for results
    • Items per page = choose how many articles appear on the results page
    • Click the Search button to start the search
    • Click the "Clear form" link to reset the form and start over

Reviewing the Search Results

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

ProQuest newspaper databases search results page

  1. From the top area:
    • Options to work with search results:
      • Modify search = go back to the search page to change the search details
      • Recent searches = linked list of searches (this is also where you can get a link to the search results)
      • Save search/alert = option to save search and set up an alert for new results
    • Options to cite, email, print, save articles
    • Full text = check box to limit results to full text
    • View the number of results
    • Search within = click to search within the results
  2. From the results list:
    • Linked title = click to view article
    • Information about newspaper article: author, newspaper title, date, excerpt from where the search words were found in the text
    • Abstract/Details = click to view abstract
    • Full text = click to view full text
    • Preview = click to view abstract/preview; also often shows subject terms
  3. From the left-side menu:
    • Sort drop-down = change sorting options
    • Narrow results
      • Full text = options to limit to full text
      • Source type = options to limit to source type (always limited to newspapers for newspaper database)
      • Publication date = limit by date (enter dates or use the slider)
      • Additional options:
        • Publication title
        • Document type
        • Subject
        • Company/organization
        • Location
        • Person
        • Language

Previewing a Newspaper Article Abstract

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

ProQuest newspaper databases preview pop-up window

  1. Preview = click to view abstract/preview; also often shows subject terms
  2. Abstract = read the abstract/summary
  3. Subject = view subject terms
  4. Options to use the article: cite, email, print, save

Viewing the Full Text of a Newspaper Article

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

ProQuest newspaper databases record page - full-text tab

ProQuest newspaper databases article record page - details tab

  1. From the Full Text tab:
    • Article information: article title, author, newspaper title, date, page number
    • Full text tab = view the full text (usually the default location)
    • Details tab = provides abstract and details about the article (only the default if click on the Abstract/Details link from the search results page)
    • Options to use the article: cite, email, print, save
    • Hide highlighting = click the link to hide the highlight of the search terms in the text
    • Read the full text of the article on the rest of the page
  2. From the Details tab:
    • List of information about the article: article title, author, newspaper title, page number, date, etc.
    • Use the Document URL to save a link to the article

Using a Generated Citation

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

ProQuest newspaper databases - citation pop-up window

  1. Each article provides a link to a suggested citation.
  2. Remember to copy, paste, and edit. These generated citations often have incorrect formatting, such as missing page numbers or URL formatting issues.
  3. Change the citation style (APA, MLA, etc.) using the drop-down menu

Charger Search: All Library Databases

Charger Search: All Library Databases is a broad tool for searching multiple library resources at once. Gather information from books and ebooks; articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; theses/dissertations; reports; reference works; & more. This search system will mix the different types of sources into one list of search results.

Here's a link:

Searching from the Basic Search Page (Main Page)

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

  1. Access library services, such as Ask a Librarian, and Advanced Search from menu icon
  2. Enter search terms in the search box and click the Search button

Searching from the Advanced Search Page

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

  1. Change "All Fields" drop-down to search by titleauthor, etc.
  2. Enter search term(s) in box(es)
  3. Change "AND" drop-down box to adjust AND, OR, NOT options to search for all words, any words, or exclude words
  4. Click the "Add a row" link to add more search box rows, if needed
  5. Publication date range: enter dates to limit results by date
  6. Show content type: check box(es) to limit by content type, such as book, ebook, article, etc.
  7. Language: click the drop-down to limit results by language
  8. Show only: check box(es) to limit by full textpeer review, etc.
  9. Exclude from results: check box(es) to exclude specific types of sources from the results, such as newspaper articles, book reviews, etc.
  10. Expand your results: check the box to include results that the library doesn't have; this can be useful for knowing what else may be available and making interlibrary loan requests
  11. Click the "Clear Form" link if you need to clear the options and start over
  12. Click the "Back to basic search" link to return to the basic search page (main page)
  13. Click the Search button to start the search

Reviewing the Search Results

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

  1. From the top:
    • Use the search box to tweak search terms, if needed
    • Click the link for the Advanced Search, if more detailed tweaks are needed
    • Click on the folder icon for saved items (articles, ebooks, etc.)
    • Click on the menu icon for additional services
    • Look at the number of results to see if there are too few or too many
    • Click on the "Relevance" link to change the sorting option to sort by date
    • Check the box for "Add results beyond your library's collection" to show items that might be useful to request from interlibrary loan
  2. From the left-side menu:
    • Refine your source: click on options to refine results by source characteristics (full text, peer-review, etc.)
    • Content type: click on options to limit the results by content type (newspaper article, book/ebook, journal article, etc.)
    • Discipline: click on options to limit results by subject or discipline; click on the "More" link to show the full list of disciplines/subjects available
    • Publication date: enter dates to limit results to items published within a specific date range
    • Subject terms: click on options to limit results by subject terms, which are related to how the sources are indexed or categorized
    • Language: if sources are in several languages, options will appear to limit the results
  3. From the right-side options:
    • Look for definitions from Encyclopædia Britannica
    • Related Topics section will suggest topics or phrases that the system thinks are related to your search terms; may be useful for adjusting the search when the results aren't quite right
  4. For each source:
    • Click on the "Preview" link to view a preview of the source (a panel will open below the source's title)
    • Icons: there are several icons with additional options
      • Click on the quotation mark (citation icon) for the citation generator
      • Click on the email icon to email the source information to yourself or someone else
      • Click on the folder icon to save the source to your account
      • click on the ellipses icon to export the source information to a citation manager (Zotero, etc.)
    • Availability: look for the availability or source location information
      • for print books, this will be a call number to locate the book in the library
      • for electronic sources (ebooks, articles, etc.), this will be a link to the database that has the source
    • Source title link: click on the title of the source to go to the full text for that source
      • for print books, the link will go to the library catalog

Previewing a Source

click here to view screenshot (click again to close)

  1. Click on the "Preview" link to view a preview of the source
  2. If the source is an article, an abstract will appear. Otherwise, a brief excerpt from a book or longer source will appear
  3. There will also be source information that will be using for citing your source or locating print sources - publication date, call number, etc.
  4. Click on the "Permanent Link" link to view a permanent link to the source in Charger Search: All Library Database. This link will always work. (Copying the URL from the location bar in the browser won't always work because those URLs tend to time out.)
  5. Click on the "Preview" link again to close the preview

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.