Nutrition & Food Science Research Guide

1. Open Educational Resources (OER)

• OER Commons: A digital library of open educational resources, including textbooks and course materials for nutrition and food science.
• OpenStax: Offers free, peer-reviewed textbooks on related subjects such as biology and chemistry, which can be foundational for understanding nutrition and food science.

2. Online Courses and Lectures

• Coursera: Provides free access to many courses on nutrition, food science, and health from top universities. Auditing courses is often free.
• edX: Similar to Coursera, offering free courses on nutrition and food science from institutions like Harvard, Wageningen University, and others.
• MIT OpenCourseWare: Offers free lecture notes, exams, and videos from MIT's courses, including those related to nutrition and health sciences.
• FutureLearn: Offers free courses on nutrition and food science topics from various universities and institutions.

3. Research and Journals

• PubMed Central (PMC): A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, including research articles on nutrition and food science.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Contains free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including those focused on nutrition and food science.
• Google Scholar: A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly articles across various disciplines, including nutrition and food science.

4. Interactive Learning Tools and Videos

• Khan Academy: Provides a variety of courses on human biology and health, which are essential for understanding nutrition.
• YouTube - NutritionFacts.org: Offers engaging video tutorials on various nutrition topics, backed by scientific research.
• CrashCourse - Anatomy & Physiology: Provides video tutorials that cover topics relevant to nutrition.

5. Professional Organizations and Resources

• Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics: Offers a range of resources, articles, and news related to nutrition and dietetics.
• American Society for Nutrition (ASN): Provides access to research articles, news, and resources on nutrition science.

6. Government Resources and Guidelines

• ChooseMyPlate.gov: Provides resources and guidelines on healthy eating and nutrition from the USDA.
• National Institutes of Health (NIH): Offers a wealth of information and research on health, nutrition, and diet.
• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - Nutrition: Provides guidelines, research, and resources on nutrition and health.

7. Textbooks and Reference Materials

• BioDigital Human: An interactive 3D platform for exploring human anatomy and physiology.
• Anatomy and Physiology by OpenStax: A free, peer-reviewed textbook covering key topics in anatomy and physiology relevant to nutrition.
• Nutritional Sciences by Steven H. Zeisel: An online textbook providing comprehensive coverage of nutritional sciences.

8. Podcasts and Webinars

• Nutrition Diva: Offers quick, science-based tips on nutrition and health.
• Food Psych Podcast: Explores topics related to nutrition, health, and food relationships.

9. Online Communities and Forums

• Reddit - r/nutrition: A community where users can ask questions and share resources related to nutrition.
• NutritionFacts.org Community: Offers a forum and community for discussing nutrition topics and research.

10. Additional Educational Websites

• Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health - Nutrition Source: Provides evidence-based information on nutrition.
• Mayo Clinic - Nutrition and Healthy Eating: Offers articles, recipes, and tips for healthy eating.