Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Research 2.0

Secondary Sources: Databases & Sites

Independent Voices

Digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Pro and con articles on controversial issues. Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media
Specialized collection of more than 250 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies
Access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy
Research different religions and philosophies and how they impact our daily lives.
Gale OneFile: Popular Culture Studies
Scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
More than 150 journals that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in our global community.
LGBTQ+ Studies Web Archive
A Library of Congress collection of archived websites regarding LGBTQ+ culture, history, and politics.

Primary Sources: Databases & Sites

Black, Asian, and Minority Ethnic Histories
This resource contains a hyperlinked list of National Archives current resources for Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic histories on The National Archives website
Media History
A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
The LGBT Community Center National History Archive 
Community-based archive that collects, preserves and makes available to the public the documentation of LGBTQ lives and organizations centered in and around New York.
Digital Feminist Archives
This archive offers a snapshot of feminist history in the 1960s and 1970s.
Documenting Disability in the Historical Record
This document compiles a list—by no means complete—of entities that have played an active role in documenting disability in history. 

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.