Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Research 2.0

Secondary Sources: Databases

Gale OneFile: U.S. History
Provides coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work on a range of events. Includes journals for both to the novice historian and the academic researcher
Academic OneFile: History 
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. This link leads you to specific history subjects within the database.
USA.gov
The official, public-access guide to American government information and services.
Academic Video Online: U.S. History
The most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. Through this link, find videos covering a wide range of subjects within U.S. History.
Black Freedom Struggle in the Unites States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality
This website contains approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom.

Primary Sources: Databases

National Archives
Historical founding documents of the United States. 
U.S. Government Documents
Public access government documents such as presidential documents, congressional bills, laws, codes, and directories.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Discover historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. Watch and listen.
African American Historical Serials Collection
An archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922.
Smithsonian Open Access
Images and data from across the Smithsonian's 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

Indigenous Archive Treaties Explorer 

Created to provide context about and connection to the National Archives' holdings of the Ratified Indian Treaties, newly conserved and scanned for the first time thanks to the generous gift of an anonymous donor. 

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.