Database Apps

FamilySearch Family Tree makes it easy and convenient to discover and document your own branches of the world’s family tree while preserving family memories such as photos, written stories, and audio recordings.

Connect with your ancestors as you discover the important events and stories of their lives. As your heart turns to them, begin to collect and add your own favorite family memories to the tree for others to enjoy for generations to come. Share your family legacy with others in person or through popular social networks.

• Browse your family branches, and see portraits of relatives you’ve never seen before.
• Discover facts, documents, stories, photos, and recordings about your ancestors.
• Easily add new life details, photos, stories, and audio recordings for your relatives.
• Take your family tree with you wherever you go—the app works even without Internet access.
• The app automatically syncs with FamilySearch.org, so you can pick up where you left off on any device.

Share family stories with your children at bedtime or in the car while traveling. Learn something new about your family origins while waiting in a line. Take the app to family gatherings, and capture stories you’ve never heard before. Ask your parents and grandparents to tell you about their lives and what they remember about their deceased relatives; then record their stories using the app. Use important moments of your history as teaching aids. Watch how stories of your ancestors’ hardships, endurance, and faith help you become a better person.

First Ladies is an exhibit by the National Park Service.

Let a park ranger be your guide! The National Park Service App is the brand new official app for all 420+ national parks. Find interactive maps, tours of park places, on-the-ground accessibility information, and more. The app was created by National Park Service staff—people who know national parks—to help you make the most of your visit. With all of these parks and a brand new app, it will take some time to finish creating content for each park. If you don’t find what you’re looking for now, check back regularly as our rangers work to complete the experience for each of our parks.

This app brings forward tools needed to effectively utilize the extensive U.S. National Archives( NARA) repositories.
NARA houses our national treasures in repositories around the country. This equates to tens of millions of records on a variety of subjects. Locating needed materials is a common challenge to researchers.
Version 1.0.0 (initial release) provides first app based advanced search capability to the catalogued records.
Supporting materials include:

• Record Groups organized by subject.
• Resources at the specialized library located in each archive.
• Access to official NARA twitter feed for latest closing information and news.
• Materials provided facilitate preparation for in-processing at the archive and strong initial visit by providing:
• Information on the documentation needed to be granted access to the archives.
• Rules for handling documents.
• Addresses and phone numbers of the Washington D.C. area locations.
• Shuttle and accessibility information to the Archives I and Archives II locations.

Find the latest available data from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) on unemployment rates and employment by industry and occupation for states, metro areas, and counties. Search by area name, zip code, or use your GPS location, and drill down or up to get comparable data for different geographic levels.

Use this app as a starting point to understand employment and wage conditions in your local labor market. Compare your local labor market to other counties, metro areas, and states, and see how your state or county compares to national levels. Look at rates of change in employment or wages over the year. Compare local employment and wage levels for private businesses and government.

The World Book eBooks platform includes a rich library of beautifully illustrated titles for all ages and interests. Are you an animal fan? Learn amazing animal factoids in the Animal Lives series! Think space is pretty cool? Become an expert on black holes, alien planets, and more by reading books in the Explore the Universe series! Are comic books your thing? Journey on wild math and science adventures with characters from the Building Blocks series!

App features:

• Easy navigation using basic touch commands
• Highly illustrated reference titles, graphic novel-style nonfiction, and stories
• Embedded multimedia, including videos, audio, and games
• Automatic saving of highlights, notes, and bookmarks
• Built-in search feature for fast look-up of a word or phrase