Pre-Clinical Laboratory Science Research Guide

1. Open Educational Resources (OER)

• OER Commons: A digital library offering a variety of open educational resources, including textbooks and course materials for clinical laboratory science.
• Open Textbook Library: Provides free access to a variety of textbooks on health sciences and related fields.

2. Online Courses and Lectures

• Coursera: Offers free courses on laboratory science, microbiology, and related topics from top universities. Auditing courses is usually free.
• edX: Provides free courses on various health science topics from institutions like Harvard, MIT, and others.
• FutureLearn: Offers free courses on laboratory science and related fields.
• Saylor Academy: Provides free courses on health sciences, biology, and chemistry.

3. Textbooks and Reference Materials

• Project Gutenberg: Offers free access to many classic texts on science topics.
• Google Books: Provides previews and free access to a range of books on laboratory science and related fields.

4. Research and Journals

• Google Scholar: A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly articles across various disciplines, including laboratory sciences.
• PubMed Central (PMC): A free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, including research in clinical laboratory science.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Contains free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including those focused on laboratory sciences.

5. Professional Organizations and Resources

• American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science (ASCLS): Offers a range of free resources, articles, and research updates for clinical laboratory science students and professionals.
• American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC): Provides resources and publications related to various fields of clinical laboratory science.
• Clinical Laboratory and Standards Institute (CLSI): Offers guidelines, standards, and educational materials for laboratory practices.

6. Podcasts and Webinars

• Lab Medicine Podcast: A podcast that discusses various topics in laboratory medicine and science.
• The Clinical Chemistry Podcast: Offers insights and discussions on clinical chemistry and laboratory science topics.
• American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science Webinars: Provides webinars on various clinical laboratory science topics.

7. Interactive Learning Tools and Videos

• YouTube - Khan Academy Health & Medicine: Offers engaging video tutorials on various health science topics.
• YouTube - Clinical Laboratory Science: Provides a variety of videos and tutorials on laboratory science topics.
• TED Talks: Provides numerous talks on health, medicine, and science topics.

8. Online Communities and Forums

• Reddit - r/medlabprofessionals: A community for discussing clinical laboratory science topics and sharing resources.
• Student Doctor Network: An online community for pre-med and health science students to connect and share resources.

9. Additional Educational Websites

• MedlinePlus: Offers comprehensive health information from the National Library of Medicine.
• Mayo Clinic: Provides detailed information on diseases, conditions, and health management.
• Lab Tests Online: Offers information on various lab tests and clinical laboratory procedures.

10. Libraries and Archives

• Internet Archive: Provides access to a vast collection of free books, including many on laboratory science.
• Library of Congress: Offers access to a vast collection of documents and resources, including many relevant to clinical laboratory science.