Kinesiology Research Guide

1. Open Educational Resources (OER)

• OER Commons: A comprehensive digital library of open educational resources, including textbooks and course materials related to kinesiology.
• OpenStax: Offers free, peer-reviewed textbooks, including some on human anatomy, physiology, and related subjects that are essential for kinesiology students.

2. Online Courses and Lectures

• Coursera: Provides free access to many courses on kinesiology, exercise science, and related subjects from top universities. Auditing courses is often free.
• edX: Similar to Coursera, offering free courses on health, fitness, and sports science from institutions like Harvard, MIT, and others.
• MIT OpenCourseWare: Offers free lecture notes, exams, and videos from MIT's courses on subjects like human physiology and biomechanics.
• Khan Academy: Provides a variety of courses on human biology, anatomy, and physiology.

3. Research and Journals

• PubMed Central (PMC): A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, including research relevant to kinesiology.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Contains free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including those focused on sports science and kinesiology.
• Google Scholar: A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly articles across various disciplines, including kinesiology.

4. Interactive Learning Tools and Videos

• Visible Body: Offers some free resources for exploring human anatomy in 3D.
• YouTube - Anatomy Zone: Provides detailed and free video tutorials on human anatomy, essential for understanding kinesiology.
• CrashCourse: Offers engaging video tutorials on anatomy and physiology.

5. Professional Organizations and Resources

• American Kinesiology Association (AKA): Offers resources, publications, and news related to kinesiology.
• American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM): Provides access to research articles, news, and resources on sports medicine and exercise science.

6. Fitness and Exercise Databases

• ExRx.net: A comprehensive resource for exercise prescription, including exercise libraries, fitness assessment tools, and training guidelines.
• ACE Fitness: Offers a wide range of free articles and resources on fitness, exercise science, and health.

7. Primary Sources and Government Resources

• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Provides guidelines, research, and resources on physical activity and health.
• National Institutes of Health (NIH): Offers a wealth of information and research on health, fitness, and exercise science.

8. Textbooks and Reference Materials

• BioDigital Human: An interactive 3D platform for exploring human anatomy and physiology.
• Anatomy and Physiology by OpenStax: A free, peer-reviewed textbook covering key topics in anatomy and physiology.

9. Podcasts and Webinars

• The Move Forward Podcast: Offers insights from physical therapists and other experts on a wide range of topics related to movement and health.
• PT Pintcast: Provides interviews with physical therapists and experts in the field discussing current research and trends in physical therapy and kinesiology.

10. Open Access Journals and Articles

• Journal of Sports Science and Medicine (JSSM): Offers open access to articles on sports science, medicine, and exercise physiology.
• Sports Medicine Open: An open-access journal providing high-quality research articles on sports medicine and exercise science.