International Affairs Research Guide

1. Open Educational Resources (OER)

• OER Commons: A digital library of open educational resources, including textbooks and course materials on international relations and global studies.
• OpenStax: Offers free, peer-reviewed textbooks, including ones on related subjects like political science and economics.

2. Online Courses and Lectures

• Coursera: Provides free access to many courses on international relations and global issues from top universities. Auditing courses is often free.
• edX: Similar to Coursera, offering free courses on international affairs from institutions like Harvard, MIT, and others.
• MIT OpenCourseWare: Offers free lecture notes, exams, and videos from MIT's courses on international relations and political science.

3. Research and Policy Papers

• Council on Foreign Relations (CFR): Provides access to articles, research papers, and expert analysis on international issues.
• Brookings Institution: Offers research papers, policy briefs, and articles on global affairs and international policy.
• Carnegie Endowment for International Peace: Features in-depth research and analysis on international peace and security issues.

4. News and Analysis

• Foreign Affairs: Offers selected free articles and analysis on global issues and international relations.
• The Diplomat: Provides news and analysis on the Asia-Pacific region, with many free articles.
• Al Jazeera English: Offers comprehensive news coverage and analysis on international issues.

5. Primary Sources and Documents

• United Nations Digital Library: Access to UN documents, voting data, speeches, and more.
• CIA World Factbook: Provides comprehensive data on the countries of the world, including political, economic, and social information.
• EuroDocs: Provides access to primary documents from European history.

6. Think Tanks and Research Institutions

• Chatham House: Offers research, reports, and analysis on international affairs.
• RAND Corporation: Provides research reports and policy analysis on a wide range of global issues.
• International Crisis Group: Offers detailed reports and analysis on conflicts around the world.

7. Interactive Tools and Data

• World Bank Open Data: Provides free access to comprehensive data on global development.
• Gapminder: Offers interactive tools and data visualization on global trends and statistics.
• Trading Economics: Provides economic data and indicators from around the world.

8. Journals and Articles

• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Contains free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including those focused on international affairs.
• Google Scholar: A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly articles across various disciplines.

9. Podcasts and Webinars

• The Brookings Cafeteria: A podcast that features interviews with scholars on current global issues.
• Council on Foreign Relations Podcasts: Provides expert discussions on international relations topics.

10. Online Libraries and Archives

• Digital Public Library of America (DPLA): Provides access to millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, and more from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States.
• HathiTrust Digital Library: A large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries, including books and documents on international relations.