Research Guides: Nursing Research Guide: Find Sources

All-in-One Search: All Library Databases

Find Library Sources

Ready to dive into articles and books?

Try All-in-One Search: All Library Databases

Browsing for Books

Looking for print books and prefer to browse the shelves? CSCC Library uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize our books. The LCC system uses multiple layers of subject categories, as well as author information, and codes the information with letters and numbers. For more information, take a look at the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

Nursing: Most books about nursing are in the RT section. One example is RT85.5 .C37 2013 (Caring in Nursing Classics: An Essential Resource by M. C. Smith, M. C. Turkel, and Z. R. Wolf)
Medicine: Most books about medicine are in the R section, with internal medicine in the RC. One example is R123 .G935 2005 (Medical Terminology Simplified: A Programmed Learning Approach by Body System by Barbara A. Gylys and Regina M. Masters)

Databases

Here's a link to the complete list of Columba State Library's databases:

A-Z Databases

Some options for broad, multidisciplinary databases are:

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals in a variety of different subject areas. Best for academic research.
https://support.gale.com/doc/aone-video1
Infobase's Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Provides students access to full-length streaming videos on many topics.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.
Gale in Context Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today’s important social issues.
Gale OneFile Science This link opens in a new window
Access information on the latest developments across a range of scientific disciplines.

Some options for nursing databases are:

EBSCO Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) This link opens in a new window
An index of the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association.
Gale OneFile Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date information on a range of healthcare topics. Best for students, researchers, and healthcare professionals.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.
EBSCO Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly full-text journals and indexing for many more, including Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary.
EBSCO Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Comprehensive This link opens in a new window
Access to millions of articles in over 1,100 journals.
Gale OneFile Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Research full-text titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management.
Gale OneFile Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
Access academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, & sports medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Contains over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Rittenhouse's R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A web-based database that offers fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing, and allied health source book content from key health science publishers.