Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PZ7 .M4787952
Publication Date: 2014-09-16
Josie Byrne's life is spiraling out of control. And just when she thinks it can't get worse, she starts having dreams about a girl named Jo. Every night at the same time—3:59 a.m. Jo's life is everything Josie wants: she's popular, her parents are happily married, and her boyfriend adores her. It all seems real, but they're just dreams, right? Josie thinks so, until she wakes one night to see a shadowy image of herself in the bedroom mirror. Except it's not her at all—it's Jo.
The two girls are doppelgängers whose universes overlap every twelve hours at 3:59. Fascinated by Jo's perfect world, Josie jumps at the chance to pass through the portal and switch places for a day. But Jo's world is far from perfect, and the stuff of nightmares lurks around every corner. And when Josie finds herself trapped there, her life becomes more dangerous—and more deadly—than she ever imagined.
The Black Hope Horror by Ben Williams; Jean Williams; John B. Shoemaker
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, BF1472.U6 W55 1991
Publication Date: 1991-06-01
This is the shocking true story of the terrifying events that rocked a Houston suburb, driving eight families from their brand-new homes. Odd things were happening all over: toilets and appliances worked by themselves; beloved pets turned savage and then died; and plagues of insects and snakes swarmed over the property. Finally one family made the grisly discovery that the subdivision had been built on a graveyard.
The Complete Works of Edgar Allan Poe by Edgar Allan Poe
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PS2601 .C6
Publication Date: 1902
v.1. Poems. Essay on the poet's art. v.2-6. Tales. v.7-9. Criticisms. v.10. Miscellany. v.5 The Mystery of Marie Roget, The Pit and the Pendulum, The Tell-Tale Heart, The Gold Bug, The Black Cat, The Spectacles, Diddling, A Tale of the Ragged Mountains, The Balloon-Hoax, Mesmeric Revelation, The Premature Burial, The Oblong Box v.6 “Thou Are the Man” – The Literary Life of Thingum Bob, Esq., Late Editor of the “Goosetherumfoodle”, Some Words with a Mummy, The Purloined Letter, The Angle of the Odd, The Thousand-and-Second, Tale of Scheherazade, The Power of Words, The Imp of the Perverse, The System of Dr. Tarr and Prof. Fether, The Facts in the Case of M. Valdemar, The Cask of Amontillado, The Domain of Arnheim, Hop-Frog, Mellonta Tauta, Von Kempelen and His Discovery, Landor’s Cottage, X-ing a Paragrab, The Sphinx
Dracula by Bram Stoker; Maurice Hindle (Introduction by, Notes by); Christopher Frayling (Preface by)
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PR6037.T617 B73 2003
Publication Date: 2003-04-29
The vampire novel that started it all, Bram Stoker's Dracula probes deeply into human identity, sanity, and the dark corners of Victorian sexuality and desire. When Jonathan Harker visits Transylvania to help Count Dracula purchase a London house, he makes horrifying discoveries about his client. Soon afterward, disturbing incidents unfold in England—an unmanned ship is wrecked at Whitby, strange puncture marks appear on a young woman's neck, and a lunatic asylum inmate raves about the imminent arrival of his "Master"—culminating in a battle of wits between the sinister Count and a determined group of adversaries.
Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
Call Number: Lawrence Main Collection, Williamson Main Collection, PR5397 .F7 1990
Publication Date: 1990-06-01
"I saw the pale student of unhallowed arts kneeling beside the thing he had put together. I saw the hideous phantasm of a man stretched out, and then, on the working of some powerful engine, show signs of life and stir with an uneasy, half-vital motion." A summer evening's ghost stories, lonely insomnia in a moonlit Alpine's room, and a runaway imagination--fired by philosophical discussions with Lord Byron and Percy Bysshe Shelley about science, galvanism, and the origins of life--conspired to produce for Marry Shelley this haunting night specter. By morning, it had become the germ of her Romantic masterpiece, "Frankenstein." Written in 1816 when she was only nineteen, Mary Shelley's novel of "The Modern Prometheus" chillingly dramatized the dangerous potential of life begotten upon a laboratory table. A frightening creation myth for our own time, "Frankenstein" remains one of the greatest horror stories ever written and is an undisputed classic of its kind.
Frankenstein (with an introduction by Harold Bloom) by Mary Shelley
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PR5397.F73 F68 2004
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
Examines the most complex and memorable characters in Western literature - A selection of critical essays provides in-depth analysis of the character considered in each volume - A concise character profile discusses the character's key personality traits and physical attributes - Contains an editor's note and introduction by Harold Bloom
From the Twilight Zone by Rod Serling
Call Number: Lawrence Main Collection, PS3537.E654 F7 1962b
Publication Date: 1962
Fourteen of the most original-and chilling-stories about the Twilight Zone, where anything can happen.
H. P. Lovecraft by H. P. Lovecraft; Peter Straub (Editor)
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PS3523.O833 A6 2005
Publication Date: 2005-02-03
An extensive collection of H.P. Lovecraft's greatest works of horror and dread, from his early stories to his major classics like "The Call of Cthulhu," "The Shadow Over Innsmouth," and "At the Mountains of Madness."
Hallowe'en Party by Agatha Christie
Call Number: Lawrence Main Collection, PR6005.H66 H3 1969b
Publication Date: 1969
A child boasted of having witnessed a murder. Only a few hours later, that child was dead. And Hercule Poirot was faced with one of the most challenging cases of his long and brilliant career. Joyce was thirteen, a tiresome girl given to extravagant statements. The group of adults and children who were getting the games ready for the Hallowe'en party just laughed unbelievingly when she insisted she had once seen a murder committed. Yet that night someone shoved her head down into the bucket of water and held it there until she drowned. After the party was over, she was found, kneeling as if she were bobbing for apples. One of the very respectable guests at the party given in the quiet respectable town of Woodleigh Common must have committed a murder and had got away with it, someone who had recieved a nasty shock from Joyce's revelation and had struck back as soon as possible.
The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PS3519.A392 H3 1965
Publication Date: 1959
An anthropologist conducts an unusual research project in a reputedly haunted house.
The House of the Nightmare, and Other Eerie Tales by Kathleen Lines
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PZ1.L644 Ho3
Publication Date: 1968
Twenty-six sinister tales from the imaginations of writers like Saki, Elizabeth Bowen, Ambrose Bierce, Sir Arthur Quiller-Couch, and Walter de la Mare. Includes seven accounts of true incidents.
The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux; Peter Haining (Foreword by)
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PQ2623.E6 F213 1993
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Haunting readers since its first publication in 1911, the classic story of the disfigured Erik who haunts the Paris Opera House and secretly trains singer Christine Daa, leading to an obsessive love and pattern of fear and violence, remains a riveting journey into the darkest regions of the human heart. This updated edition features a new introduction to the gothic horror classic.
A Rose for Emily by Laurie G. Kirszner; Stephen R. Mandell
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PS3511.A86 R6 2000
Publication Date: 2000-01-02
Directed to students writing a research paper on Faulkner's "A Rose for Emily," offers an introduction, the short story itself, discussion questions, secondary source materials, an annotated model student research paper, and a comprehensive bibliography.
The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris
Call Number: Lawrence Circulation Desk, PS3558.A6558 S5 1988
Publication Date: 1988-07-15
A serial murderer known only by a grotesquely apt nickname-Buffalo Bill-is stalking women. He has a purpose, but no one can fathom it, for the bodies are discovered in different states. Clarice Starling, a young trainee at the FBI Academy, is surprised to be summoned by Jack Crawford, chief of the Bureau's Behavioral Science section. Her assignment: to interview Dr. Hannibal Lecter-Hannibal the Cannibal-who is kept under close watch in the Baltimore State Hospital for the Criminally Insane.
Dr. Lecter is a former psychiatrist with a grisly history, unusual tastes, and an intense curiosity about the darker corners of the mind. His intimate understanding of the killer and of Clarice herself form the core of The Silence of the Lambs-and ingenious, masterfully written book and an unforgettable classic of suspense fiction.
Urban Legends by Gillian Bennett; Paul Smith
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, GR78 .U72 2007
Publication Date: 2007-04-30
Don't get in that car without looking in the back seat! Everyone has heard the story about such-and-such, and while it sounds impossible, so-and-so swears that it must be true. Often gory, disgusting, shocking, and surprising, urban legends are central to everyday experience. From high schools and colleges to offices and organizations, urban legends are everywhere. This book collects more than 150 urban legends from around the world, such as The Mutilated Shopper, The Devil at the Disco, and The Thug in the Back Seat. The tales are grouped in thematic chapters, and each entry includes an introductory discussion of the legend and its presence in popular culture, the text of the legend, suggestions for further reading, and cross-references to similar tales.
The A to Z of Horror Cinema by Peter Hutchings
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PN1995.9.H6 H836 2009
Publication Date: 2009-09-02
Horror is one of the most enduring and controversial of all cinematic genres. Horror films range from the subtle and the poetic to the graphic and the gory but what links them all is their ability to frighten, disturb, shock, provoke, delight, irritate, amuse, and bemuse audiences. Horror's capacity to serve as an outlet to capture the changing patterns of our fears and anxieties has ensured not only its notoriety but also its long-term survival and its international popularity. Above all, however, it is the audience's continual desire to experience new frights and evermore-horrifying sights that continue to make films like The Exorcist, A Nightmare on Elm Street, Halloween, Night of the Living Dead, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Psycho, Ringu, and The Shining captivate viewers. The A to Z of Horror Cinema traces the development of horror cinema from the beginning of the 20th century to the present day. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries. Entries cover all the major movie villains, including Frankenstein and his monster, the vampire, the werewolf, the mummy, the zombie, the ghost, and the serial killer; the film directors, producers, writers, actors, cinematographers, make-up artists, special effects technicians, and composers who have helped to shape horror history; significant production companies and the major films that have come to stand as milestones in the development of the horror genre; and the different national traditions in horror cinema as well as horror's most popular themes, formats, conventions, and cycles.
Children of the Night: The Six Archetypal Characters of Classic Horror Films by Randy Rasmussen
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PN1995.9.H6 R37 2006
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
There are six of them: heroines, heroes, wise elders, mad scientists, servants and monsters. One of the most fascinating and also endearing aspects of horror films is how they use these six clearly defined character types to portray good and evil. This was particularly true of the classics of the genre, where actors often appeared in the same type of role in many different films. The development of the archetypal characters reflected the way the genre reacted to social changes of the time. As the Great Depression yielded to the uncertainty of World War II, flawed but noble mad scientists such as Henry Frankenstein gave way to Dr. Nieman (The Ghost of Frankenstein) with his dreams of revenge and world conquest. This work details the development of the six archetypes in horror films and how they were portrayed in the many classics of the 1930s and 1940s.
Classic Movie Monsters by Donald F. Glut
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PN1995.9.H6 G57
Publication Date: 1991-04-01
A critical and historical look at Hollywood's nine most famous fiends and monsters, including the Wolf Man, Dr. Jekyll, the Invisible Man, the Mummy, Godzilla, and the Creature from the Black Lagoon.
Ghouls, Gimmicks, and Gold by Kevin Heffernan
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PN1995.9.H6 H45 2004
Publication Date: 2004-03-25
The Creature from the Black Lagoon, the Tingler, the Mole People—they stalked and oozed into audiences’ minds during the era that followed Boris Karloff’s Frankenstein and preceded terrors like Freddy Krueger (A Nightmare on Elm Street) and Chucky (Child’s Play). Ghouls, Gimmicks, and Gold pulls off the masks and wipes away the slime to reveal how the monsters that frightened audiences in the 1950s and 1960s—and the movies they crawled and staggered through—reflected fundamental changes in the film industry. Providing the first economic history of the horror film, Kevin Heffernan shows how the production, distribution, and exhibition of horror movies changed as the studio era gave way to the conglomeration of New Hollywood.
Horror and the Horror Film by Bruce F. Kawin
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PN1995.9.H6 K39 2012
Publication Date: 2012-06-25
Horror films can be profound fables of human nature and important works of art, yet many people dismiss them out of hand. 'Horror and the Horror Film' conveys a mature appreciation for horror films along with a comprehensive view of their narrative strategies, their relations to reality and fantasy and their cinematic power. The volume covers the horror film and its subgenres – such as the vampire movie – from 1896 to the present. It covers the entire genre by considering every kind of monster in it, including the human.
The Horror Film by Rick Worland
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PN1995.9.H6 W64 2007
Publication Date: 2006-10-30
Combining historical narrative with close readings of several significant horror films, this brief volume offers a broad and lively introduction to cinematic horror. In doing so, it outlines and investigates important issues in the production, consumption, and cultural interpretation of the genre.
Internet Horror, Science Fiction and Fantasy Television Series, 1998-2013 by Vincent Terrace
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PN1992.924 .T47 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-05
This is the first ever compilation on Internet television and provides details of 405 programs from 1998 to 2013. Each entry contains the storyline, descriptive episode listings, cast and crew lists, the official website and comments. An index of personnel and programs concludes the book. From Barry the Demon Hunter to Time Traveling Lesbian to Hamilton Carver, Zombie P.I., it is a previously undocumented entertainment medium that is just now coming into focus. Forty-eight photos accompany the text.
Projected Fears by Kendall R. Phillips
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PN1995.9.H6 P44 2005
Publication Date: 2005-04-30
Movie audiences seem drawn, almost compelled, toward tales of the horrific and the repulsive. Partly because horror continues to evolve radically--every time the genre is deemed dead, it seems to come up with another twist--it has been one of the most often-dissected genres. Here, author Kendall Phillips selects ten of the most popular and influential horror films--including Dracula, Night of the Living Dead, Halloween, The Silence of the Lambs, and Scream, each of which has become a film landmark and spawned countless imitators, and all having implications that transcend their cinematic influence and achievement. By tracing the production history, contemporary audience response, and lasting cultural influence of each picture, Phillips offers a unique new approach to thinking about the popular attraction to horror films, and the ways in which they reflect both cultural and individual fears. Though stylistically and thematically very different, all of these movies have scared millions of eager moviegoers. This book tries to figure out why.
Skin Shows: Gothic Horror and the Technology of Monsters by Judith Halberstam; Jack Halberstam
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PR830.T3 H27 1995
Publication Date: 1995-08-22
In this examination of the monster as cultural object, Judith Halberstam offers a rereading of the monstrous that revises our view of the Gothic. Moving from the nineteenth century and the works of Shelley, Stevenson, Stoker, and Wilde to contemporary horror film exemplified by such movies as Silence of the Lambs, Texas Chainsaw Massacre, and Candyman, Skin Shows understands the Gothic as a versatile technology, a means of producing monsters that is constantly being rewritten by historically and culturally conditioned fears generated by a shared sense of otherness and difference.
Deploying feminist and queer approaches to the monstrous body, Halberstam views the Gothic as a broad-based cultural phenomenon that supports and sustains the economic, social, and sexual hierarchies of the time. She resists familiar psychoanalytic critiques and cautions against any interpretive attempt to reduce the affective power of the monstrous to a single factor. The nineteenth-century monster is shown, for example, as configuring otherness as an amalgam of race, class, gender, and sexuality. Invoking Foucault, Halberstam describes the history of monsters in terms of its shifting relation to the body and its representations. As a result, her readings of familiar texts are radically new. She locates psychoanalysis itself within the gothic tradition and sees sexuality as a beast created in nineteenth century literature. Excessive interpretability, Halberstam argues, whether in film, literature, or in the culture at large, is the actual hallmark of monstrosity.
Skulls to the Living, Bread to the Dead by Stanley Brandes
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, GT4995.A4 B73 2006
Publication Date: 2007-01-08
Each October, as the Day of the Dead draws near, Mexican markets overflow with decorated breads, fanciful paper cutouts, and whimsical toy skulls and skeletons. To honor deceased relatives, Mexicans decorate graves and erect home altars. Drawing on a rich array of historical and ethnographic evidence, this volume reveals the origin and changing character of this celebrated holiday. It explores the emergence of the Day of the Dead as a symbol of Mexican and Mexican-American national identity.
Skulls to the Living, Bread to the Dead poses a serious challenge to the widespread stereotype of the morbid Mexican, unafraid of death, and obsessed with dying. In fact, the Day of the Dead, as shown here, is a powerful affirmation of life and creativity. Beautifully illustrated, this book is essential for anyone interested in Mexican culture, art, and folklore, as well as contemporary globalization and identity formation.
Undead in the West by Cynthia J. Miller (Editor); A. Bowdoin Van Riper (Editor)
Call Number: Columbia Main Collection 2nd floor, PN1995.9.W4 U53 2012
Publication Date: 2012-08-17
In Undead in the West: Vampires, Zombies, Mummies, and Ghosts on the Cinematic Frontier, Cynthia J. Miller and A. Bowdoin Van Riper have assembled a collection of essays that explore the many tropes and themes through which undead Westerns make the genre's inner plagues and demons visible, and lay siege to a frontier tied to myths of strength, ingenuity, freedom, and independence. The volume is divided into three sections: "Reanimating Classic Western Tropes" examines traditional Western characters, symbolism, and plot devices and how they are given new life in undead Westerns; "The Moral Order Under Siege" explores the ways in which the undead confront classic values and morality tales embodied in Western films; and "And Hell Followed with Him" looks at justice, retribution, and retaliation at the hands of undead angels and avenger. The subjects explored here run the gamut from such B films as Curse of the Undead and Billy the Kid vs. Dracula to A-list features like From Dusk 'til Dawn and Jonah Hex, as well as animated films (Rango) and television programs (The Walking Dead and Supernatural). Other films discussed include Sam Raimi's Bubba Ho-Tep, John Carpenter's Vampires, George Romero's Land of the Dead, and Sergio Leone's Once Upon a Time in the West. Featuring several illustrations and a filmography, Undead in the West will appeal to film scholars, especially those interested in hybrid genres, as well as fans of the Western and the supernatural in cinema.
The Writing Dead by Thomas Fahy
Call Number: Lawrence Circulation Desk, PN1992.8.H67 F34 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-23
The Writing Dead features original interviews with the writers of today's most frightening and fascinating shows. They include some of television's biggest names--Carlton Cuse (Lost and Bates Motel), Bryan Fuller (Hannibal, Dead Like Me, Wonderfalls, and Pushing Daisies), David Greenwalt (Angel and Grimm), Gale Anne Hurd (The Walking Dead, The Terminator series,Aliens, and The Abyss), Jane Espenson (Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Battlestar Galactica), Brian McGreevy (Hemlock Grove), Alexander Woo (True Blood), James Wong (The X-Files, Millennium, American Horror Story, and Final Destination), Frank Spotnitz (The X-Files and Millennium), Richard Hatem (Supernatural, The Dead Zone, and The Mothman Prophecies), Scott Buck (Dexter), Anna Fricke (Being Human), and Jim Dunn (Haven).
Writing the Horror Movie by Marc Blake; Sara Bailey
Call Number: Williamson Main Collection, PN1995.9.H6 B59 2013
Publication Date: 2013-07-18
Tales of horror have always been with us, from Biblical times to the Gothic novel to successful modern day authors and screenwriters. Though the genre is often maligned, it is huge in popularity and its resilience is undeniable. Marc Blake and Sara Bailey offer a detailed analysis of the horror genre, including its subgenres, tropes and the specific requirements of the horror screenplay.