Research Guides: Commercial Entertainment Research Guide: Find Sources

All-in-One Search: All Library Databases

Find Library Sources

Ready to dive into articles and books?

Try All-in-One Search: All Library Databases

Browsing for Books

Looking for print books and prefer to browse the shelves? CSCC Library uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize our books. The LCC system uses multiple layers of subject categories, as well as author information, and codes the information with letters and numbers. For more information, take a look at the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

Dancing: Most books about dancing are in the GV1580-1799.4 section. One example is GV1783 .H85 2008 (New Dance: Writings on Modern Dance by D. Humphrey and C. H. Woodford)
Performing Arts & Drama: Most books about performing arts and drama are in the PN1560-3307 section. One example is PN1581 .A45 2006 (The Routledge Companion to Theatre and Performance by P. Allain and J. Harvie)
Music: Most books about music are in the M section. One example is MT67 .M15 2014 (The Art of Songwriting by J. MacKay)

Databases

Here's a link to the complete list of Columba State Library's databases:

A-Z Databases

Some options for broad, multidisciplinary databases are:

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals in a variety of different subject areas. Best for academic research.
https://support.gale.com/doc/aone-video1
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.
Gale in Context Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today’s important social issues.
Infobase's Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Provides students access to full-length streaming videos on many topics.

Some options for commercial entertainment databases are:

Ambrose Digital Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Provides access to streaming video of 37 Shakespeare plays.
ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
An image repository of art, architecture and design sourced from museums, libraries, archives, and photographers.
Gale OneFile Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including: advertising, public relations, and more.
Gale OneFile Fine Arts and Music Collection This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
A full-text database that cross-searches Gale’s literature collections: Contemporary Authors Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Something About the Author Online, and Twayne’s Author series.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Explore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.
Gale OneFile Pop Culture This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
Alexander Street's Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Offers filmed productions of plays as well as documentaries on theatre topics.