Research Guides: All About College Research: Plagiarism, Copyright, and Fair Use

All About Plagiarism, Copyright, and Fair Use

What is plagiarism?
How does someone plagiarize someone else?
What is copyright?
What is fair use?
How do I give credit to someone else's work?

This guide will help you find the answers to these and other questions!

From Student Conduct and Discipline, Section 2. Disciplinary Offenses:

Academic Misconduct. Any action or attempted action designed to provide an unfair academic advantage or disadvantage for oneself or others. Academic misconduct includes a wide variety of behaviors such as plagiarism, cheating, fabrication, and other academic dishonesty. For purposes of this policy the following definitions apply:
        Plagiarism. The adoption or reproduction of ideas, words, statements, images, or works of another person as one's own without proper attribution. Examples include but are not limited to copying of passages from works of others into one's own work without acknowledgment; summarizing or paraphrasing ideas from another source without proper attribution, unless such information is recognized as common knowledge; and using facts, statistics graphs, representations, or phrases without proper attribution;
        Cheating. Using or attempting to use unauthorized materials, information, or aids in any academic exercise or test/examination. Examples include but are not limited to copying another's work; obtaining or giving unauthorized assistance; unauthorized collaboration or collusion with another person; having another person take a test for a student; and the use of unauthorized materials or devices. The term academic exercise includes all forms of work submitted for credit or hours;
        Fabrication. Falsifying, fabricating, or misrepresenting data, research results, citations or other information in connection with an academic assignment. Unauthorized falsification or invention of any information or citation in an academic exercise.

Columbia State Community College. (2021). 2021-22 catalog and student handbook. Retrieved from http://columbiastate.edu/catalog-student-handbook

All About Plagiarism

According to Dictionary.com Unabridged Dictionary, plagiarism means:

an act or instance of using or closely imitating the language and thoughts of another author without authorization and the representation of that author's work as one's own, as by not crediting the original author
a piece of writing or other work reflecting such unauthorized use or imitation

Plagiarism. (n.d.). In Dictionary.com Unabridged. Retrieved March 13, 2017 from website http://www.dictionary.com/browse/plagiarism

According to Merriam-Webster's Online Dictionary, plagiarize means:

to steal and pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one's own : use (another's production) without crediting the source
to commit literary theft : present as new and original an idea or product derived from an existing source

Plagiarize. (n.d.). In Merriam-Webster Online. Retrieved March 13, 2017 from http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/plagiarize

Plagiarism isn't always intentional. Often, it happens accidentally through improper citation.

Here are some common types of plagiarism:

directly copy someone else's words and use them as if they were your own
re-use your own work
mix words, phrases, or ideas from uncited sources with your own words
mix words, phrases, or ideas from cited sources with uncited sources
rewrite, or paraphrase, someone else's work without proper credit
incorrectly or only partially credit a source
cite the wrong source

The best way to avoid plagiarism is to cite your sources. Here are some tips:

keep track of your sources in a method that works for you
examples: annotated bibliography, parenthetical notes in an outline, index cards, whatever is best for you
Note: If you prefer to save source URLs, make sure to find the "secure link", "permanent link", or "permalink"! Otherwise, the link may timeout, and you will lose it.

know when to cite a source
Here are some questions to help you decide:
1. Did you think of the idea? Yes → Do not need to cite anything. No→ Go on to question #2.
2. Is the idea common knowledge? Yes → Do not need to cite anything. No → Cite the source. (Harris, 2002, p. 20)

know what sources to cite
Here's a useful table:

What to Cite

You must cite someone else's

words you quote

words you summarize

words you paraphrase

idea (interpretation, opinion, conclusion)

data

graph

photograph

drawing

table of information

experiment

example

unique concept

apt phrase

expression of common knowledge

solution to a problem

speech

video source (film, TV, etc.)

the structure or sequencing of facts, ideas, or arguments

You do not have to cite your own

words

idea (interpretation, opinion, conclusion)

data

graph

photograph

drawing

table of information

experiment

example

unique concept

apt phrase

expression of common knowledge

solution to a problem

(table from Harris 18)

double-check the citation and style guide information
Such as: APA, MLA, Chicago - check your syllabus, assignment instructions, and/or professor.
Not sure how to cite something? Review information from the Citing Sources guide, or ask a professor, librarian, or writing tutor at the Teaching and Learning Center.

Harris, Robert A. Using Sources Effectively: Strengthening Your Writing and Avoiding Plagiarism. Pyrczak Publishing, 2002.

Bainbridge State College. "Plagiarism: How to avoid it." YouTube. YouTube, uploaded by Bainbridge State College, 5 Jan. 2010, youtu.be/2q0NlWcTq1Y

All About Copyright and Fair Use

According to Merriam-Webster's Online Dictionary, copyright is:

the exclusive legal right to reproduce, publish, sell, or distribute the matter and form of something (as a literary, musical, or artistic work)

Copyright. (n.d.). In Merriam-Webster Online. Retrieved March 13, 2017 from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/copyright

According to Merriam-Webster's Online Dictionary, fair use is:

a legal doctrine that portions of copyrighted materials may be used without permission of the copyright owner provided the use is fair and reasonable, does not substantially impair the value of the materials, and does not curtail the profits reasonably expected by the owner

Fair use. (n.d.). In Merriam-Webster Online. Retrieved March 13, 2017 from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/fair%20use

According to the U.S. Copyright Office, Circular 92, Chapter 1, § 107:

Notwithstanding the provisions of sections 106 and 106A, the fair use of a copyrighted work, including such use by reproduction in copies or phonorecords or by any other means specified by that section, for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching (including multiple copies for classroom use), scholarship, or research, is not an infringement of copyright. In determining whether the use made of a work in any particular case is a fair use the factors to be considered shall include—
(1) the purpose and character of the use, including whether such use is of a commercial nature or is for nonprofit educational purposes;
(2) the nature of the copyrighted work;
(3) the amount and substantiality of the portion used in relation to the copyrighted work as a whole; and
(4) the effect of the use upon the potential market for or value of the copyrighted work.
The fact that a work is unpublished shall not itself bar a finding of fair use if such finding is made upon consideration of all the above factors.

Always remember to properly credit and cite copyrighted works (see the Citing Sources guide for more information). When in doubt, research the item to determine copyright information.