Pre-Health Research Guide

1. Open Educational Resources (OER)

• OER Commons: A digital library offering a variety of open educational resources, including textbooks and course materials for pre-med and health sciences.
• Open Textbook Library: Provides free access to a variety of textbooks on health sciences and related fields.

2. Online Courses and Lectures

• Coursera: Offers free courses on biology, chemistry, health sciences, and other related topics from top universities. Auditing courses is usually free.
• edX: Provides free courses on various health science topics from institutions like Harvard, MIT, and others.
• FutureLearn: Offers free courses on health sciences and related fields.
• Khan Academy: Provides free video tutorials and exercises on biology, chemistry, and other pre-med topics.

3. Textbooks and Reference Materials

• Project Gutenberg: Offers free access to many classic texts on science and health topics.
• Google Books: Provides previews and free access to a range of books on health sciences and pre-med topics.

4. Research and Journals

• Google Scholar: A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly articles across various disciplines, including health sciences.
• PubMed Central (PMC): A free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, including research in health sciences.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Contains free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including those focused on health sciences.

5. Professional Organizations and Resources

• Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC): Offers a range of free resources, articles, and research updates for pre-med students and professionals.
• American Medical Association (AMA): Provides resources, articles, and guidelines related to medical education and practice.
• National Institutes of Health (NIH): Offers extensive resources, research updates, and publications on health and medical topics.

6. Podcasts and Webinars

• The Short Coat Podcast: A podcast discussing various topics in medical education and health sciences.
• The PreMed Years: A podcast offering insights and advice for pre-med students.
• PodMed Double T: A podcast from Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center discussing recent health sciences research.

7. Interactive Learning Tools and Videos

• YouTube - Khan Academy Health & Medicine: Offers engaging video tutorials on various health science topics.
• CrashCourse - Anatomy & Physiology: Provides video lessons on anatomy and physiology.
• TED Talks: Offers numerous talks on health, medicine, and science topics.

8. Online Communities and Forums

• Reddit - r/premed: A community for discussing pre-med topics and sharing resources.
• Student Doctor Network: An online community for pre-med and medical students to connect and share resources.

9. Additional Educational Websites

• MedlinePlus: Offers comprehensive health information from the National Library of Medicine.
• Mayo Clinic: Provides detailed information on diseases, conditions, and health management.
• Verywell Health: Provides articles and resources on various health topics.

10. Libraries and Archives

• Internet Archive: Provides access to a vast collection of free books, including many on health sciences.
• Library of Congress: Offers access to a vast collection of documents and resources, including many relevant to health sciences.

11. MCAT Preparation

• Khan Academy MCAT: Provides free video tutorials and practice questions specifically designed for MCAT preparation.
• AAMC MCAT Official Prep Hub: Offers free sample questions and other resources for MCAT preparation.