Pre-Dental Hygiene Research Guide

1. Open Educational Resources (OER)

• OER Commons: A digital library offering a variety of open educational resources, including textbooks and course materials for dental hygiene and health sciences.
• Open Textbook Library: Provides free access to a variety of textbooks on health sciences, including topics relevant to dental hygiene.

2. Online Courses and Lectures

• Coursera: Offers free courses on health sciences, biology, and other related topics from top universities. Auditing courses is usually free.
• edX: Provides free courses on various health science topics from institutions like Harvard, MIT, and others.
• FutureLearn: Offers free courses on health sciences and related fields.
• Saylor Academy: Provides free courses on health sciences, biology, and chemistry.

3. Textbooks and Reference Materials

• Project Gutenberg: Offers free access to many classic texts on science and health topics.
• Google Books: Provides previews and free access to a range of books on health sciences and dental hygiene.

4. Research and Journals

• Google Scholar: A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly articles across various disciplines, including dental hygiene.
• PubMed Central (PMC): A free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, including research in dental hygiene.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Contains free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including those focused on dental and health sciences.

5. Professional Organizations and Resources

• American Dental Hygienists' Association (ADHA): Offers a range of free resources, articles, and research updates for dental hygiene students and professionals.
• National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR): Provides extensive resources, research updates, and publications on dental and oral health.
• American Dental Association (ADA): Offers resources, articles, and guidelines related to dental practice and education.

6. Podcasts and Webinars

• The Dental Hygiene Podcast: A podcast discussing various topics in dental hygiene.
• A Tale of Two Hygienists Podcast: Offers insights and discussions on dental hygiene and related topics.
• ADHA Webinars: Provides webinars on various dental hygiene topics.

7. Interactive Learning Tools and Videos

• YouTube - Dental Hygiene: Offers a variety of videos and tutorials on dental hygiene topics.
• Khan Academy Health & Medicine: Provides engaging video tutorials on various health science topics.
• TED Talks: Offers numerous talks on health, medicine, and science topics.

8. Online Communities and Forums

• Reddit - r/DentalHygiene: A community for discussing dental hygiene topics and sharing resources.
• DentalTown: An online community for dental professionals to connect and share resources.

9. Additional Educational Websites

• MedlinePlus: Offers comprehensive health information from the National Library of Medicine, including dental health.
• Mayo Clinic: Provides detailed information on diseases, conditions, and health management, including dental health.
• Verywell Health: Provides articles and resources on various dental health topics.

10. Libraries and Archives

• Internet Archive: Provides access to a vast collection of free books, including many on dental health and hygiene.
• Library of Congress: Offers access to a vast collection of documents and resources, including many relevant to dental hygiene.