Public Relations Research Guide

1. Open Educational Resources (OER)

• OER Commons: A digital library offering a variety of open educational resources, including textbooks and course materials for public relations.
• Open Textbook Library: Offers free access to a variety of textbooks on communications and public relations.

2. Online Courses and Lectures

• Coursera: Provides free courses on public relations and related topics from top universities. Auditing courses is usually free.
• edX: Offers free courses on communications and public relations topics from institutions like Harvard, MIT, and more.
• Alison: Offers free courses on public relations, communications, and digital marketing.
• Saylor Academy: Provides free courses on public relations and business communication.

3. Textbooks and Reference Materials

• Project Gutenberg: Provides free access to many classic texts on communication and public relations.
• Google Books: Offers previews and free access to a range of books on public relations and related fields.

4. Research and Journals

• Google Scholar: A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly articles across various disciplines, including public relations.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Contains free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including those focused on public relations and communications.

5. Professional Organizations and Resources

• Public Relations Society of America (PRSA): Offers a range of free resources, articles, and research updates for public relations students and professionals.
• International Public Relations Association (IPRA): Provides resources and publications related to various fields of public relations.
• Institute for Public Relations (IPR): Offers research and insights on public relations topics.

6. Podcasts and Webinars

• PR Week Podcast: Discusses the latest trends and issues in public relations.
• For Immediate Release (FIR): A podcast network offering shows focused on public relations and communications.
• The PR Podcast: Explores various topics in the world of public relations.

7. Interactive Learning Tools and Videos

• YouTube - PRSA: Offers videos and webinars on public relations topics.
• YouTube - Philip DeFranco: While not specifically PR-focused, his content often involves crisis management and public relations issues.
• TED Talks: Provides numerous talks on communication, branding, and public relations topics.

8. Online Communities and Forums

• Reddit - r/PublicRelations: A community for discussing public relations topics and sharing resources.
• PR Daily: Provides news, advice, and insights on public relations and communications.

9. Additional Educational Websites

• MindTools: Offers resources on communication skills, which are crucial for public relations.
• Verywell Mind: Provides articles and resources on various communication and psychology topics relevant to public relations.

10. Libraries and Archives

• Internet Archive: Provides access to a vast collection of free books, including many on public relations.
• Library of Congress: Offers access to a vast collection of documents and resources, including many relevant to public relations.