Psychology Research Guide

1. Open Educational Resources (OER)

• OER Commons: A digital library offering a variety of open educational resources, including textbooks and course materials for psychology.
• OpenStax: Provides free, peer-reviewed textbooks on introductory psychology.

2. Online Courses and Lectures

• Coursera: Offers free courses on psychology topics from top universities. Auditing courses is usually free.
• edX: Provides free courses on various psychology topics from institutions like Harvard, MIT, and others.
• MIT OpenCourseWare: Offers free lecture notes, exams, and videos from MIT’s psychology courses.
• Khan Academy: Provides a comprehensive set of tutorials and exercises on various psychology topics.

3. Textbooks and Reference Materials

• Open Textbook Library: Offers free access to a variety of psychology textbooks.
• Project Gutenberg: Provides free access to many classic texts on psychology.

4. Research and Journals

• PubMed Central (PMC): A free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, including psychology.
• Google Scholar: A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly articles across various disciplines, including psychology.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Contains free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including those focused on psychology.
• APA PsycNet: Offers access to a wealth of psychological research and articles (some content may be behind a paywall, but many articles are freely accessible).

5. Interactive Learning Tools and Videos

• CrashCourse - Psychology: Offers engaging video tutorials on various topics in psychology.
• YouTube - PsychU: Provides videos on mental health and psychology topics.
• Simply Psychology: Offers articles and interactive content on a wide range of psychology topics.

6. Professional Organizations and Resources

• American Psychological Association (APA): Offers a range of free resources, articles, and research updates for psychology students and professionals.
• British Psychological Society (BPS): Provides access to resources and publications related to various fields of psychology.

7. Podcasts and Webinars

• The Psych Files: A podcast that discusses psychology topics in an accessible manner.
• Speaking of Psychology: A podcast by the APA that explores the latest psychological research and its applications.
• All in the Mind: A podcast that explores the mind, brain, and behavior.

8. Online Communities and Forums

• Reddit - r/Psychology: A community for discussing psychology topics and sharing resources.
• Psychology Stack Exchange: A Q&A site for asking and answering questions related to psychology.

9. Additional Educational Websites

• Psych Central: Offers a wealth of articles, quizzes, and resources on mental health and psychology topics.
• MindTools: Provides resources on psychological concepts and their applications in personal and professional development.
• Verywell Mind: Provides articles and resources on various psychology topics and mental health issues.

10. Libraries and Archives

• Internet Archive: Provides access to a vast collection of free books, including many on psychology.
• Library of Congress: Offers access to a vast collection of documents and resources, including many relevant to psychology.