Music Research Guide

1. Open Educational Resources (OER)

• OER Commons: A comprehensive digital library of open educational resources, including textbooks and course materials for music theory, history, and performance.
• OpenStax: While more focused on general subjects, OpenStax offers textbooks that can be useful for foundational knowledge in subjects like physics (for acoustics).

2. Online Courses and Lectures

• Coursera: Provides free access to many music courses, including music theory, history, and performance, from top universities. Auditing courses is often free.
• edX: Offers free courses on various music topics from institutions like Berklee College of Music, MIT, and others.
• Khan Academy: Provides resources on music theory and history.
• MIT OpenCourseWare: Offers free lecture notes, exams, and videos from MIT's music courses.

3. Sheet Music and Scores

• IMSLP (International Music Score Library Project): Offers free access to a vast collection of public domain sheet music and scores.
• Mutopia Project: Provides free sheet music editions of classical music pieces.

4. Music Theory and Ear Training

• musictheory.net: Provides free music theory lessons, exercises, and tools for ear training and composition.
• Teoria: Offers tutorials, exercises, and reference materials for music theory and ear training.
• ToneSavvy: Provides interactive music theory and ear training exercises.

5. Research and Journals

• Google Scholar: A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly articles across various disciplines, including music.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Contains free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including those focused on music.

6. Music History and Appreciation

• Oxford Music Online: Offers a comprehensive music encyclopedia, including the Grove Music Online. Many libraries provide free access to this resource.
• Music History Archive (Internet Archive): Provides access to a range of texts on music history.

7. Video Lessons and Masterclasses

• YouTube - Channels like Rick Beato: Offers tutorials on music theory, ear training, and analysis.
• Berklee Online YouTube Channel: Provides free video lessons on various music topics.
• MasterClass YouTube Channel: Occasionally offers free previews of lessons from renowned musicians and composers.

8. Interactive Tools and Apps

• Flat: A web-based music notation software that allows for collaborative writing and editing of music scores.
• Noteflight: An online music notation editor that allows you to create, view, and share music scores.
• Audacity: Free, open-source software for recording and editing audio.

9. Podcasts and Webinars

• Classical Classroom: A podcast that makes classical music fun and accessible.
• Switched on Pop: A podcast that analyzes popular music.

10. Music Libraries and Archives

• Library of Congress: Offers a vast collection of music recordings, scores, and other resources.
• BBC Music Archive: Provides access to a wide range of music content, including performances and documentaries.

11. Professional Organizations and Resources

• American Musicological Society (AMS): Offers resources, publications, and news related to musicology.
• Society for Music Theory (SMT): Provides access to resources, publications, and events related to music theory.

12. Additional Educational Websites

• Classical Archives: Offers a vast collection of classical music recordings and information.
• MusicNotes: Provides access to sheet music and music theory resources.