Graphic Design Research Guide

1. Open Educational Resources (OER)

• OER Commons: A comprehensive digital library of open educational resources, including textbooks and course materials specifically for graphic design.
• OpenStax: Provides free, peer-reviewed, openly licensed textbooks that may cover foundational aspects relevant to graphic design, like visual communication.

2. Online Courses and Tutorials

• Coursera: Offers free access to many courses on graphic design and related subjects. You can audit courses for free.
• edX: Similar to Coursera, offering free courses from universities worldwide.
• Khan Academy: Offers various courses and tutorials that cover design basics, although more focused on art fundamentals.
• Canva Design School: Provides tutorials, articles, and courses on various aspects of graphic design.
• Envato Tuts+: Offers free tutorials and courses on graphic design, covering tools like Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, and InDesign.

3. Design Software

• GIMP: A free, open-source image editor that is a great alternative to Adobe Photoshop.
• Inkscape: A free and open-source vector graphics editor, similar to Adobe Illustrator.
• Blender: A free, open-source 3D creation suite that supports the entirety of the 3D pipeline.

4. Typography Resources

• Google Fonts: A comprehensive library of free and open-source fonts.
• Font Squirrel: Provides free, high-quality fonts that are licensed for commercial use.

5. Stock Images and Assets

• Unsplash: A large collection of high-resolution, free-to-use photos.
• Pexels: Offers a wide range of free stock photos and videos.
• Pixabay: Free images and videos for use in any project.
• The Noun Project: A large collection of free icons.

6. Design Inspiration and Communities

• Behance: A platform to showcase and discover creative work.
• Dribbble: A community where designers share their projects and get feedback.
• Awwwards: Showcases award-winning web design and digital design projects.

7. Design Principles and Theory

• Interaction Design Foundation: Offers free and paid courses, as well as articles on design principles and theory.
• Smashing Magazine: Provides a wealth of articles on design, coding, and user experience.

8. Color Tools

• Coolors: A color scheme generator that helps you find the perfect palette.
• Adobe Color: An excellent tool for creating and exploring color palettes.

9. Professional Development and Certification

• LinkedIn Learning: Offers one month of free access to courses, including many on graphic design.
• Alison: Provides free online courses and certification in graphic design.

10. Design Blogs and Websites

• Creative Bloq: A resource for design inspiration, tutorials, and industry news.
• Design Shack: Offers articles, tutorials, and inspiration for graphic designers.
• 99U by Adobe: Provides articles and resources on creative careers and design thinking.