Accounting Research Guide

Courses and Lectures

• Khan Academy: Offers comprehensive courses on financial accounting, managerial accounting, and personal finance.
  • Khan Academy Finance & Capital Markets
•  Coursera: Provides free courses from universities and colleges worldwide (audit mode)
  • Coursera Accounting Courses
  • Coursera Finance Courses
• edX: Hosts free courses from top institutions like MIT, Harvard, and UC Berkeley (audit mode).
  •    edX Accounting Courses
  •    edX Finance Courses

Textbooks and Reading Materials

• OpenStax: Provides free, peer-reviewed, openly licensed textbooks.
  • OpenStax Principles of Accounting
  • OpenStax Principles of Economics
• MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW): Offers free lecture notes, exams, and videos from MIT 
  • MIT OCW Accounting
  • MIT OCW Finance

Practice Problems and Tutorials

• AccountingCoach: Provides free tutorials, explanations, and quizzes on various accounting topics.
  • AccountingCoach
• Investopedia: Offers comprehensive financial and investment education articles, tutorials, and quizzes.
  • Investopedia Finance

Financial News and Analysis

• The Wall Street Journal (WSJ): Though primarily a subscription service, WSJ offers some free articles and a limited number of free reads each month.
  • WSJ
• Bloomberg: Provides free news articles and videos related to finance and markets
  • Bloomberg

Forums and Community Support

• Reddit: Subreddits like r/Accounting and r/Finance offer community support, discussion, and advice.
  • r/Accounting
  • r/Finance
• Stack Exchange: The Personal Finance & Money Stack Exchange is a Q&A site where students can ask questions and get answers from professionals.
  • Personal Finance & Money Stack Exchange

Miscellaneous

• Accounting Terminology Guide

  Provides a glossary of accounting terms for financial reporting. Created by the New York State Society of Certified Public Accountants (NYSSCPA).

• Accounting Today

  "Accounting Today is the leading information resource for public accountants – serving the community of professionals who provide tax preparation, bookkeeping, auditing, financial planning, and business advisory and consulting services to individuals and small businesses."

• AnnualReports.com

  Provides access to annual reports. Locate reports by searching according to company name or ticker symbol, or browse by exchange, industry, sector, or alphabet.

• Cambridge Business English Dictionary

  A searchable online dictionary of 35,00 business-related words.

• Forbes Financial Glossary

  An alphabetical index of financial terms.

• Glossary of Financial and Business Terms (The New York Times)

  Alphabetical listing of over 2,500 entries, compiled by Campbell R. Harvey (Duke University).

• The Importance of Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP)

  The Financial Accounting Foundation (FAF) created this site to provide information about GAAP, including specific information related to public companies, private companies, and various levels of governments.

• Rutgers Accounting Web

  Provides accounting information for researchers, educators, students, and more.

• Tax History Project

  "Tax History Project [is] a public service initiative from Tax Analysts. Established in 1995, the Project provides scholars, policymakers, journalists, and the general public with information on the history of U.S. public finance."