Skip to Main Content 
Web Resources
- Theatre Communications Group: "Theatre Communications Group (TCG), the national organization for theatre, leads for a just and thriving theatre ecology. Since its founding in 1961, TCG’s constituency has grown from a handful of groundbreaking theatres to over 750 Member Theatres and Affiliate organizations and over 3,000 Individual Members. TCG reaches over one million students, audience members, and theatre professionals each year through its programs and services.
- Internet Broadway Database (IBDB):"The Internet Broadway Database archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today. IBDB provides a comprehensive database of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production. IBDB also offers historical information about theatres and various statistics and fun facts related to Broadway."
- Khan Academy: Performing Arts: A free online course regarding performance art.
- National Theatre (UK) Teaching Resources "The Learning Hub is our new free, online library of National Theatre resources. Find teaching tools for curriculum set texts or explore creativity, literacy and oracy using theatre and drama skills. You can filter by key stage and theatre style, or simply search for keywords or production areas, such as performance skills. The Hub includes:
- Free downloadable PDF resources
- Short-form videos with educational content
- Learning outcomes and production information
- Suitability and content warnings"
- The American Theatre Wing (The Tonys): "American Theatre Wing invests in brave work, supports creative growth, and celebrates excellence to bring inclusive stories to our national culture through theatre. Founded in 1917 on the eve of America’s entry into World War I by seven suffragists, American Theatre Wing has spent a century using theatre to advance human experience, empathy and cultural growth like never before."
- Monologue Archives: This site offers a selection of classic and contemporary monologues from various plays, including works from Shakespeare, Chekhov, and other renowned playwrights. It is organized by genre, making it easier to find comedic, dramatic, or other types of monologues.
- Backstage: This popular resource for actors features a collection of free monologues, with new ones added regularly. It covers a wide range of styles and periods, allowing theatre students to explore different genres and themes.
- Daily Actor: This site has a comprehensive list of free monologues from a variety of plays and movies. It provides both classic and contemporary pieces, catering to a diverse set of preferences and audition requirements.
- Stage Agent Although it primarily offers paid resources, Stage Agent has a selection of free monologues, along with character descriptions and context from the plays. This can be helpful for theatre students to understand the background of the monologue and the character's motivations.
- Stage Milk: A diverse collection of free monologues for both men and women. It includes a mix of classical and contemporary pieces, along with some original works.
- Shakespeare's Monologues: For students interested in Shakespearean monologues, this site provides a comprehensive list of soliloquies from various plays by Shakespeare, along with useful context and character details.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.