Research Guides: Theatre Research Guide: Databases

Databases

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA): Discover images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States. DPLA connects people to the riches held within America's Libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. Public Access.
Digital Public Library of America Audio: Audio interviews with World War II veterans, Holocaust survivors, African American history, American History life and customs
Digital Public Library of America's Moving Image Archive: Discover over 49 million images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC): This database offers access to academic papers and journals related to education and pedagogy, which can be useful for research on theatre education and training.
Gale Virtual Reference: A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
HathiTrust: A partnership of academic and research institutions that offers a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Project Gutenberg: A library of over 70,000 free e-books, particularly classic works for which the copyright has expired.
Project Muse: Provides access to over 62,000 full text e-book and scholarly articles on a range of topics.
ProQuest Academic Video Online: Access to a streaming collection of more than 66,000 films from a multidisciplinary range of subject areas.
ProQuest Journals by Title: Find journals or e-books by title, subject, or collection.