At its core, metabolism is the chemical process that converts food and drink into energy or, more simply put, burns calories. says Mary Weiler, Ph.D., R.D., nutrition scientist with Abbott. It also aids in building and repairing tissues and eliminating waste, adds Dan LeMoine, board-certified nutrition consultant, co-founder of ReVitalize Nutrition, and author of Fear No Food. And certain nutrients—including protein, fiber, iron, and more—work differently to kick it into high gear, Weiler says.
Mary Weiler says, iron is crucial to maintaining a steady calorie burn. “It acts as a catalyst for enzyme reactions, which help the body break down larger, complex molecules for fuel,” she says. “When we’re mildly deficient in iron, one of the first side effects is sluggishness or lethargy, and our metabolism slows.”
Metabolism refers to the highly integrated network of chemical reactions by which living cells grow and sustain themselves. This network is composed of two major types of pathways: anabolism and catabolism. Anabolism uses energy stored in the form of adenosine triphosphate (ATP) to build larger molecules from smaller molecules. Catabolic reactions degrade larger molecules in order to produce ATP and raw materials for anabolic reactions. Together, these two general metabolic networks have three major functions: (1) to extract energy from nutrients or solar energy; (2) to synthesize the building blocks that make up the large molecules of life: proteins, fats,...
While experts suggest that no one single food is best for boosting metabolism, these five foods and nutrients may improve some aspects of metabolic health.
Source: Is There A Best Food For Boosting Metabolism? Here's ...
Protein takes more effort from the body to break down, explains Dr. Albin, resulting in a higher TEF and therefore, a higher expenditure of calories, particularly when compared to carbohydrates and fat.
However, some researchers caution that the TEF of protein and any metabolic benefit from increasing intake may only be in the short-term.
Other possible explanations for how a high-protein diet impacts metabolism beyond TEF in the context of other lifestyle factors for weight management include:
The Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommends a variety of protein sources, including plant and animal sources of protein like lean meats (e.g., pork tenderloin), lean poultry (e.g., chicken breast), seafood (e.g., pollock), nuts or eggs.
Most protein-containing foods are a good source of B vitamins, says Bruno. “These vitamins help break down the foods you eat into energy, essentially supporting your body with processing the calories better and using them for energy,” she adds.
Legumes are part of the protein and vegetable food groups, but may be in a class of their own when it comes to their unique nutrient combination and metabolism.
“If I had to choose one single food to support as a ‘metabolism booster’, it would be legumes (e.g., beans),” explains Dr. Alvarez.
Legumes (which include beans, peas and lentils), have nutrients important for metabolism, including protein and dietary fiber. They also include resistant starch, according to the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.
“The fiber and resistant starch in legumes can be broken down by the gut microbiome to produce short-chain fatty acids, which may boost energy expenditure,” notes Dr. Alvarez. Dietary fiber may also influence the biochemical material made by your genes to increase energy expenditure and decrease fat storage, she suggests.
Tempeh—which typically comes in a flat, bar-like structure—is made from fermented soybeans, and is high in protein and “good for you” fats, says Bruno.
“Because it is a fermented food, it contains probiotics, which can be beneficial for your gut health and ultimately may support a more efficient and effective digestive and overall metabolic process,” she notes.
Some studies suggest the compounds found in green tea, like catechins and caffeine, may increase metabolism and your body’s ability to break down and use fat for energy, explains Isaacs.
Spices and herbs that may play a role in metabolism include cinnamon, chili peppers, turmeric and ginger, notes Dr. Albin. “The capsaicinoids in chili peppers stimulate our adrenal system and can increase body temperature (thermogenesis) and energy expenditure while reducing appetite,” she adds.
Dr. Albin also suggests that ginger may improve thermogenesis with potential to improve metabolism, digestion and blood sugar control.
However, there isn’t a one-spice-fits-all shortcut to better health and metabolism, and more research is needed to better understand their impact, she clarifies.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics:
The U.S Department of Aguculture is a great source of info with charts and measurements with foods.
The following table includes the top 12 calorie-burning exercises. These exercises burn the most calories per hour. Remember, the calories listed are an estimate. Your exact calorie burn depends on factors like intensity, duration, and your weight.
Source: 12 Exercises That Burn the Most Calories
This source is a great way to calculate other exercises and has estimates of calories burnt which can help your metalbolic rate.
The duration of exercise also influences the metabolic fuel mixture. The uptake of glucose from blood increases progressively during exercise, peaking after 60–90 min. Then, as exercise persists, free fatty acid concentrations in blood increase, and the muscle gradually shifts over to burning more fatty acids and less glucose.
The effects of physical training tend to cause a more effective adaptation of skeletal muscle, allowing them to oxidize fatty acids more effectively, and thus to spare both muscle and liver glycogen.
The antecedent diet can influence this fuel mixture rather acutely, as can changes in the hormonal milieu, particularly the concentrations of insulin, glucagon, or the catecholamines.
Source:Exercise and Depression: Endorphins, Reducing ... - WebMD
Improved self-esteem is a key psychological benefit of regular physical activity. When you exercise, your body releases chemicals called endorphins. These endorphins interact with the receptors in your brain that reduce your perception of pain.
Endorphins also trigger a positive feeling in the body, similar to that of morphine. For example, the feeling that follows a run or workout is often described as "euphoric." That feeling, known as a "runner's high," can be accompanied by a positive and energizing outlook on life.
Endorphins act as analgesics, which means they diminish the perception of pain. They also act as sedatives. They are manufactured in your brain, spinal cord, and many other parts of your body and are released in response to brain chemicals called neurotransmitters. The neuron receptors endorphins bind to are the same ones that bind some pain medicines. However, unlike with morphine, the activation of these receptors by the body's endorphins does not lead to addiction or dependence.
Regular exercise has been proven to:
Exercise also has these added health benefits:
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
Alphabetically arranged encyclopedia provides coverage of important public health concerns. Topics include diseases and conditions, health and wellness efforts, nutrition, ethics and law related topics and statistics, sanitation issues, and everyday environmental effects.
Covers the 14 systems of the human body and their role and functions both from an individual organ perspective and each system as a whole, as well as what occurs when systems are not functioning properly due to injury, disease, or other causes. Entries cover the development of each body system from birth to full adult growth, as well as adjustments by the body during the senior years.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
Covers all aspects of the subject including therapies, conditions/diseases, herbs/plants, and people. Identifies numerous types of alternative medicine being practiced today, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda and osteopathy.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Includes information on almost 2,000 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
Worldmark Global Health and Medicine
This collection provides accessible explanations of many recent scientific advances in public health, as well as advances in medicine, molecular biology, genetics, epidemiology, and related fields. It covers current health and medicine issues with global impact in the modern world and organizations and groups addressing these issues.
https://www.healthline.com/health/what-is-basal-metabolic-rate
https://ro.co/weight-loss/how-to-increase-metabolism/
https://www.health.harvard.edu/staying-healthy/foods-that-fight-inflammation
https://diabetes.org/health-wellness/fitness/blood-glucose-and-exercise#:~:text=Insulin%20sensitivity%20is%20increased%2C%20so,insulin%20is%20available%20or%20not.
https://blog.onepeloton.com/what-happens-to-your-brain-during-and-after-exercise/
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.