Research Guides: Political Science Research Guide: Find Sources

Need assistance? Get in touch!

Phone: 931-540-2560

All-in-One Search: All Library Databases

Find Library Sources

Ready to dive into articles and books?

Try All-in-One Search: All Library Databases

Browsing for Books

Looking for print books and prefer to browse the shelves? CSCC Library uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize our books. The LCC system uses multiple layers of subject categories, as well as author information, and codes the information with letters and numbers. For more information, take a look at the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

Political Science: Most books about political science are in the J section. One example is JC73 .L3 2014 (The Birth of Politics: Eight Greek and Roman Political Ideas and Why They Matter by M. S. Lane)

Databases

Here's a link to the complete list of Columba State Library's databases:

A-Z Databases

Some options for broad, multidisciplinary databases are:

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers can find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
https://support.gale.com/doc/aone-video1
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Library's largest database. News and periodical articles on most topics with millions of articles in full-text. A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Pro and con articles on controversial issues. Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Draws on the Greenhaven Press series. Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Full-length streaming videos on many topics.

Some options for political science databases are:

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Collection of videos on American history.
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
More than 150 journals that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in our global community.
Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more
Legal Periodicals Full Text This link opens in a new window
Legal journals, law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications.
Military & Intelligence Database This link opens in a new window
Over 400 journals, which cover all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and more.
Social Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text for social sciences, 1982 to present.
U.S. History Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work on a range of events. Includes journals for both to the novice historian and the academic researcher.
World History Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Journals will be useful both to the novice historian as well as to the academic researcher.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video on world history.