Nutrition & Food Science Research Guide

"FoodSafety.gov is the gateway to food safety information provided by government agencies."

"Gateway to invasive species information; covering Federal, State, local, and international sources."

"Online since 1995, NewCROP (New Crops Resource Online Program) is an information-rich site related to crop plants. It is a project of the Purdue University Center for New Crops and Plant Products and is associated with the New Crop Diversification project and the Jefferson Institute."

"PlantFacts has merged several digital collections developed at Ohio State University to become an international knowledge bank and multimedia learning center."

"Use Plant Information Online to discover sources in 1,008 North American nurseries for 80,145 plants, find 396,895 citations to 143,013 plants in science and garden literature, and access information on 2,711 North American seed and nursery firms. Plant Information Online is a free service of the University of Minnesota Libraries."

"The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references."

"The Food and Drug Administration is responsible for protecting the public health by ensuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, and medical devices; and by ensuring the safety of our nation's food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation."

"The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics is the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals founded in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1917, by a visionary group of women dedicated to helping the government conserve food and improve the public's health and nutrition during World War I. ... Members of the Academy play a key role in shaping the public's food choices, thereby improving its nutritional status, and in treating persons with illnesses or injuries. Members offer preventive and medical nutrition therapy services in a variety of settings."

"The American Nutrition Association began in 1972 as the Nutrition for Optimal Health Association (NOHA). We are a 501(c)3 not-for-profit, tax-exempt organization whose mission is to promote optimal health through nutrition and wellness education. For 40 years, we have been at the cutting edge of science-based nutrition, educating both laypeople and professionals about the health benefits of nutrition and wellness."

"Bringing together the world’s top researchers, clinical nutritionists and industry to advance our knowledge and application of nutrition for the sake of humans and animals."

"Since 1939, IFT has been advancing the science of food and its application across the global food system by creating a dynamic forum where individuals from more than 90 countries can collaborate, learn, and grow, transforming scientific knowledge into innovative solutions for the benefit of people around the world."

"The Society for Nutrition Education and Behavior (SNEB) represents the unique professional interests of nutrition educators worldwide. SNEB is dedicated to promoting effective nutrition education and healthy behavior through research, policy and practice and has a vision of healthy communities, food systems and behaviors."

"A not-for-profit organisation dedicated to bringing together nutrition and food scientists"

"AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural and applied economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food security and supply, energy and natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, international trade, and economic development."

"CiteSeer^x is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science."

"Presented by the Library of Congress, Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information."

"GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government."

Image search from Google - either text-based or reverse image.

A news aggregator

"Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results."

Reverse image search - upload an image or provide a URL to an image's online location.

"USA.gov is an interagency product administered by USAGov (formerly the Federal Citizen Information Center), a division of the U.S. General Services Administration's Technology Transformation Service. Our mission is to create and organize timely, needed government information and services and make them accessible anytime, anywhere, via your channel of choice."

"Wolfram|Alpha introduces a fundamentally new way to get knowledge and answers—not by searching the web, but by doing dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods."
Want to have fun? Look what the response is to the question "What is the airspeed velocity of an unladen swallow?"