Research Guides: Music Research Guide: Find Sources

All-in-One Search: All Library Databases

Find Library Sources

Ready to dive into articles and books?

Try All-in-One Search: All Library Databases

Browsing for Books

Looking for print books and prefer to browse the shelves? CSCC Library uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize our books. The LCC system uses multiple layers of subject categories, as well as author information, and codes the information with letters and numbers. For more information, take a look at the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

Music: Most books about music are in the M section. One example is MT67 .M15 2014 (The Art of Songwriting by J. MacKay)

Databases

Here's a link to the complete list of Columba State Library's databases:

A-Z Databases

Some options for broad, multidisciplinary databases are:

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals in a variety of different subject areas. Best for academic research.
https://support.gale.com/doc/aone-video1
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.
Gale in Context Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today’s important social issues.
Infobase's Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Provides students access to full-length streaming videos on many topics.

Some options for music databases are:

Gale OneFile Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including: advertising, public relations, and more.
Gale OneFile Fine Arts and Music Collection This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Library of Congress Audio Collections This link opens in a new window
Public access to interviews, national jukebox, old time tunes, oral histories, classical music, e-books, and podcast lectures.
Alexander Street's Music Online: Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of recorded music with more than 76,000 albums covering the entire Western Classical tradition from the Middle Ages to the contemporary period.