Research Guides: History Research Guide: Find Sources

All-in-One Search: All Library Databases

Find Library Sources

Ready to dive into articles and books?

Try All-in-One Search: All Library Databases

Browsing for Books

Looking for print books and prefer to browse the shelves? CSCC Library uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize our books. The LCC system uses multiple layers of subject categories, as well as author information, and codes the information with letters and numbers. For more information, take a look at the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

History: Most books about history are in the D (world history), E (America and United States), and F (local United States, British America, Dutch America, French America, Latin America, Spanish America) sections. One example is F445.N4 T75 2002 (Trial and triumph: Essays in Tennessee's African American history by C. V. West)

Databases

Here's a link to the complete list of Columba State Library's databases:

A-Z Databases

Some options for broad, multidisciplinary databases are:

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals in a variety of different subject areas. Best for academic research.
https://support.gale.com/doc/aone-video1
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.
Gale in Context Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today’s important social issues.
Infobase's Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Provides students access to full-length streaming videos on many topics.

Some options for history databases are:

Alexander Street's American History in Video This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 7,000 documentary films pertaining to U.S. history.
Gale OneFile Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Gale OneFile Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family, and marital issues.
Gale OneFile U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Search balanced coverage of events in U.S. history. Best for novice historians and academic researchers.
Gale OneFile World History This link opens in a new window
Access balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
Alexander Street's World History in Video This link opens in a new window
A wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries allowing researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.