Engineering Research Guide

A 36-minute video tutorial from the Patent and Trademark Depository Library Program of the United States Patent and Trademark Office.

"The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks."

The Index "is an alphabetical list of subject headings referring to specific classes and subclasses of the classification system."

Includes tutorials for how to search for patents as well as various search resources: USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database (PatFT), USPTO Patent Application Full-Text and Image Database (AppFT), Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR), Public Search Facility, Patent and Trademark Resource Centers (PTRCs), Patent Official Gazette, Common Citation Document (CCD), International Patent Offices, Published Sequences, Patent Assignment Search.

Espacenet offers "free access to the database of over 90 million patents."

"WIPO is the global forum for intellectual property services, policy, information and cooperation. We are a self-funding agency of the United Nations, with 189 member states."

"Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 59 million patent documents including 3.1 million published international patent applications."

Searches by: word or phrase, patent number, title, inventor, original assignee, current U.S. classification, international classification, cooperative classification, patent type/status, and date. **NOTE: Google's Patent search is not as up-to-date as the USPTO's databases.**

"We accredit college and university programs in the disciplines of applied science, computing, engineering and engineering technology at the associate, bachelor and master degree levels."

"Founded in 1852, ASCE is the nation’s oldest engineering society. ASCE stands at the forefront of a profession that plans, designs, constructs, and operates society’s economic and social engine – the built environment – while protecting and restoring the natural environment."

"ASME is a not-for-profit membership organization that enables collaboration, knowledge sharing, career enrichment, and skills development across all engineering disciplines, toward a goal of helping the global engineering community develop solutions to benefit lives and livelihoods."

"Founded in 1964, the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) is a private, independent, nonprofit institution that provides engineering leadership in service to the nation. The mission of the National Academy of Engineering is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology."

"In 1934, a group of professional engineers met in New York City to establish an organization dedicated to the non-technical concerns of licensed professional engineers. The National Society of Professional Engineers stands today as the only national organization committed to addressing the professional concerns of licensed PEs across all disciplines."

"For more than six decades, SWE has given women engineers a unique place and voice within the engineering industry. Our organization is centered around a passion for our members' success and continues to evolve with the challenges and opportunities reflected in today's exciting engineering and technology specialties."

"TSPE is a professional association with about 1000 individual members including professional (licensed) engineers, engineering associates, engineering interns, and engineering students. TSPE members represent all technical disciplines and all practice areas including construction, education, industry, government, and private practice."

"The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers has approximately 37,000 dedicated Civilians and Soldiers delivering engineering services to customers in more than 130 countries worldwide."

"The U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) is committed to transforming the way our buildings are designed, constructed and operated through LEED — the top third-party verification system for sustainable structures around the world."

"CiteSeer^x is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science."

"Presented by the Library of Congress, Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information."

"GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government."

Image search from Google - either text-based or reverse image.

A news aggregator

"Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results."

Reverse image search - upload an image or provide a URL to an image's online location.

"USA.gov is an interagency product administered by USAGov (formerly the Federal Citizen Information Center), a division of the U.S. General Services Administration's Technology Transformation Service. Our mission is to create and organize timely, needed government information and services and make them accessible anytime, anywhere, via your channel of choice."

"Wolfram|Alpha introduces a fundamentally new way to get knowledge and answers—not by searching the web, but by doing dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods."
Want to have fun? Look what the response is to the question "What is the airspeed velocity of an unladen swallow?"