Research Guides: Economics Research Guide: Online Sources

Need assistance? Get in touch!

Email: library@columbiastate.edu

Phone: 931-540-2560

Online Sources

Recommended economics sites, including reference sites.

Cambridge Business English Dictionary
A searchable online dictionary of 35,00 business-related words.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
A database maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis's research division -- "download, graph, and track 498,000 US and international time series from 87 sources."
Fiscal and Economic Policy
"Policymakers at all levels of government have many difficult choices to make as rising health care, education, and infrastructure costs place pressures on annual budgets and outpace revenue growth. Pew helps legislators and public officials confront these challenges by sharing information and highlighting best practices that help governments achieve both short-term and long-term financial health and make smart investments in programs that provide the strongest returns."
FRASER
"FRASER is a digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System. .. FRASER began as a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis in 2004 and now provides access to data and policy documents from the Federal Reserve System and many other institutions."
Glossary of Financial and Business Terms (The New York Times)
Alphabetical listing of over 2,500 entries, compiled by Campbell R. Harvey (Duke University).
National Bureau of Economic Research
"Founded in 1920, the NBER is a private, non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals."
Pew Research Center
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."
Resources for Economists on the Internet (AEA)
"This guide is sponsored by the American Economic Association. It lists more than 2,000 resources in 97 sections and sub-sections available on the Internet of interest to academic and practicing economists, and those interested in economics."
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
"The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner."
World Bank Open Data
Provides "free and open access to global development data"

Economics-related associations and organizations.

American Economic Association
"Once composed primarily of college and university professors in economics, the American Economic Association (AEA) now attracts 20,000+ members from academe, business, government, and consulting groups within diverse disciplines from multi-cultural backgrounds. All are professionals or graduate-level students dedicated to economics research and teaching."
International Economic Association
"The IEA was founded in 1950 as a Non Governmental Organization, at the instigation of the Social Sciences Department of UNESCO. It has since its creation maintained information and consultative relations with UNESCO and is since 1973 a federated member of the International Social Science Council. Its aim from the beginning has been to promote personal contacts and mutual understanding among economists in different parts of the world through the organization of scientific meetings, through common research programs and by means of publications of an international character on problems of current importance."
National Economic Association
"The National Economic Association (NEA) was founded in 1969 as the Caucus of Black Economists to promote the professional lives of minorities within the profession. In addition to continuing its founding mission, the organization is particularly interested in producing and distributing knowledge of economic issues that are of exceptional interest to promoting economic growth among native and immigrant African Americans, Latinos, and other people of color."
Southern Economic Association
"The Southern Economic Association is one of the oldest economics associations in the United States, dating back to a conference held in Atlanta in November 1928."
World Economics Association
An association "for the world’s community of economists, while promoting a pluralism of approaches to economic analysis."

Alternative search engines. Useful for locating specific types of sources.

CiteSeer^x
"CiteSeer^x is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science."
Congress.gov
"Presented by the Library of Congress, Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information."
FDsys (Federal Digital System)
"GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government."
Google Images
Image search from Google - either text-based or reverse image.
Google News
A news aggregator
Science.gov
"Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results."
TinEye Reverse Image Search
Reverse image search - upload an image or provide a URL to an image's online location.
USA.gov
"USA.gov is an interagency product administered by USAGov (formerly the Federal Citizen Information Center), a division of the U.S. General Services Administration's Technology Transformation Service. Our mission is to create and organize timely, needed government information and services and make them accessible anytime, anywhere, via your channel of choice."
WolframAlpha
"Wolfram|Alpha introduces a fundamentally new way to get knowledge and answers—not by searching the web, but by doing dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods."
Want to have fun? Look what the response is to the question "What is the airspeed velocity of an unladen swallow?"