Pre-Allied Health Sciences Research Guide

1. Open Educational Resources (OER)

• OER Commons: A digital library offering a variety of open educational resources, including textbooks and course materials for health sciences.
• Open Textbook Library: Provides free access to a variety of textbooks on health sciences and related fields.

2. Online Courses and Lectures

• Coursera: Offers free courses on health sciences, biology, anatomy, and other pre-allied health topics from top universities. Auditing courses is usually free.
• edX: Provides free courses on various health science topics from institutions like Harvard, MIT, and others.
• FutureLearn: Offers free courses on health science and related fields.
• Saylor Academy: Provides free courses on health sciences and biology.

3. Textbooks and Reference Materials

• Project Gutenberg: Offers free access to many classic texts on health and science topics.
• Google Books: Provides previews and free access to a range of books on health sciences and related fields.

4. Research and Journals

• Google Scholar: A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly articles across various disciplines, including health sciences.
• PubMed Central (PMC): A free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, including research in health sciences.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Contains free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including those focused on health sciences.

5. Professional Organizations and Resources

• American Medical Association (AMA): Offers a range of free resources, articles, and research updates for medical students and professionals.
• American Public Health Association (APHA): Provides resources and publications related to various fields of public health.
• National Institutes of Health (NIH): Offers extensive resources, research updates, and publications on health and medical topics.

6. Podcasts and Webinars

• The Short Coat Podcast: A podcast that discusses various topics in health sciences and medical education.
• PodMed Double T: A podcast from Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center discussing recent health sciences research.
• The Nursing Show: Offers insights and discussions on nursing and health sciences topics.

7. Interactive Learning Tools and Videos

• YouTube - Khan Academy Health & Medicine: Offers engaging video tutorials on various health science topics.
• CrashCourse - Anatomy & Physiology: Provides video lessons on anatomy and physiology.
• TED Talks: Provides numerous talks on health, medicine, and science topics.

8. Online Communities and Forums

• Reddit - r/healthscience: A community for discussing health science topics and sharing resources.
• Student Doctor Network: An online community for pre-med and health science students to connect and share resources.

9. Additional Educational Websites

• MedlinePlus: Offers comprehensive health information from the National Library of Medicine.
• Mayo Clinic: Provides detailed information on diseases, conditions, and health management.
• Verywell Health: Provides articles and resources on various health topics.

10. Libraries and Archives

• Internet Archive: Provides access to a vast collection of free books, including many on health sciences.
• Library of Congress: Offers access to a vast collection of documents and resources, including many relevant to health sciences.