Sports & Leisure Management Research Guide

1. Open Educational Resources (OER)

• OER Commons: A digital library offering a variety of open educational resources, including textbooks and course materials for sport and leisure management.
• Open Textbook Library: Provides free access to a variety of textbooks on business, management, and related fields, some of which cover sport and leisure management topics.

2. Online Courses and Lectures

• Coursera: Offers free courses on sport management, leadership, and related topics from top universities. Auditing courses is usually free.
• edX: Provides free courses on various sport management topics from institutions like Harvard, MIT, and others.
• Alison: Offers free courses on sports management, coaching, and related subjects.
• FutureLearn: Provides free courses on sport and leisure management and related fields.

3. Textbooks and Reference Materials

• Project Gutenberg: Offers free access to many classic texts on business and management, some of which may be relevant to sport and leisure management.
• Google Books: Provides previews and free access to a range of books on sport and leisure management and related fields.

4. Research and Journals

• Google Scholar: A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly articles across various disciplines, including sport and leisure management.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Contains free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including those focused on sport and leisure management.
• PubMed Central (PMC): A free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, including research related to sports and physical activity.

5. Professional Organizations and Resources

• North American Society for Sport Management (NASSM): Offers a range of free resources, articles, and research updates for sport management students and professionals.
• Sport Management Association of Australia and New Zealand (SMAANZ): Provides resources and publications related to various fields of sport management.
• International Sport Management Association (ISMA): Offers resources and publications on global sport management.

6. Podcasts and Webinars

• The Work in Sports Podcast: A podcast that discusses various topics in the sports industry and sport management careers.
• Sports Business Radio: Offers insights and discussions on the business side of sports.
• Sports Management Worldwide Webinars: Provides webinars on various sport management topics.

7. Interactive Learning Tools and Videos

• YouTube - Sport Management: Offers a variety of videos and tutorials on sport management topics.
• TED Talks: Provides numerous talks on sports, leadership, and management topics.
• Khan Academy: While not specifically focused on sport management, it offers valuable resources on business, economics, and management principles.

8. Online Communities and Forums

• Reddit - r/SportsManagement: A community for discussing sport management topics and sharing resources.
• Sports Management Network: An online community on LinkedIn for sport management professionals and students to connect and share resources.

9. Additional Educational Websites

• MindTools: Offers resources on management and leadership skills, which are crucial for sport and leisure management.
• Verywell Mind: Provides articles and resources on various psychology topics relevant to sport and leisure management.
• Sociology of Sport Journal: Offers access to research articles on the sociological aspects of sports.

10. Libraries and Archives

• Internet Archive: Provides access to a vast collection of free books, including many on sport and leisure management.
• Library of Congress: Offers access to a vast collection of documents and resources, including many relevant to sport and leisure management.