Social Work Research Guide

1. Open Educational Resources (OER)

• OER Commons: A digital library offering a variety of open educational resources, including textbooks and course materials for social work.
• Open Textbook Library: Offers free access to a variety of textbooks on social work and related subjects.

2. Online Courses and Lectures

• Coursera: Provides free courses on social work topics from top universities. Auditing courses is usually free.
• edX: Offers free courses on various social work topics from institutions like Harvard, MIT, and more.
• Alison: Offers free courses on social work, mental health, and related topics.
• FutureLearn: Provides free courses on social work and related fields.

3. Textbooks and Reference Materials

• Project Gutenberg: Provides free access to many classic texts on social work and social welfare.
• Google Books: Offers previews and free access to a range of books on social work and related fields.

4. Research and Journals

• Google Scholar: A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly articles across various disciplines, including social work.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Contains free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including those focused on social work.
• PubMed Central (PMC): A free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, including social work research.

5. Professional Organizations and Resources

• National Association of Social Workers (NASW): Offers a range of free resources, articles, and research updates for social work students and professionals.
• International Federation of Social Workers (IFSW): Provides resources and publications related to various fields of social work.
• Social Work Helper: Offers articles, news, and resources for social workers and students.

6. Podcasts and Webinars

• Social Work Podcast: A podcast that discusses various topics in social work.
• The Social Work Tutor Podcast: Discusses issues and stories from the field of social work.
• NASW Social Work Talks: Offers insights and discussions on various social work topics.

7. Interactive Learning Tools and Videos

• YouTube - Social Work Helper: Offers videos and webinars on social work topics.
• TED Talks: Provides numerous talks on social issues, mental health, and social work topics.
• Simply Psychology: Offers articles and interactive content on a wide range of psychology topics relevant to social work.

8. Online Communities and Forums

• Reddit - r/socialwork: A community for discussing social work topics and sharing resources.
• Social Work Network: An online community for social workers to connect and share resources.

9. Additional Educational Websites

• MindTools: Offers resources on communication and interpersonal skills, which are crucial for social work.
• Verywell Mind: Provides articles and resources on various mental health and psychology topics relevant to social work.
• Social Work Career: Offers resources and articles on career development for social workers.

10. Libraries and Archives

• Internet Archive: Provides access to a vast collection of free books, including many on social work.
• Library of Congress: Offers access to a vast collection of documents and resources, including many relevant to social work.