Physics Research Guide

1. Open Educational Resources (OER)

• OER Commons: A digital library offering a variety of open educational resources, including textbooks and course materials for physics.
• OpenStax: Provides free, peer-reviewed textbooks on introductory and advanced physics topics.

2. Online Courses and Lectures

• MIT OpenCourseWare: Offers free lecture notes, exams, and videos from MIT’s physics courses.
• Coursera: Features free courses on physics from top universities. Auditing courses is usually free.
• edX: Provides free courses on various physics topics from institutions like MIT, Harvard, and others.
• Khan Academy: Offers a comprehensive set of tutorials and exercises on a wide range of physics topics.

3. Textbooks and Reference Materials

• Open Textbook Library: Offers free access to a variety of physics textbooks.
• Feynman Lectures on Physics: Provides free online access to the renowned lectures by Richard Feynman.

4. Research and Journals

• arXiv: A repository of preprints in physics, mathematics, and computer science where researchers share their work before it is peer-reviewed.
• PubMed Central (PMC): A free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, including articles on biophysics.
• Google Scholar: A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly articles across various disciplines, including physics.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Contains free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including those focused on physics.

5. Interactive Learning Tools and Videos

• Physics Classroom: Offers tutorials, simulations, and practice problems on various physics topics.
• PhET Interactive Simulations: Provides free interactive math and science simulations, including physics.
• YouTube - MinutePhysics: Offers short, engaging videos explaining various physics concepts.
• YouTube - Veritasium: Provides in-depth videos on physics and other science topics.

6. Professional Organizations and Resources

• American Physical Society (APS): Offers a range of free resources, articles, and research updates for physics students and professionals.
• Institute of Physics (IOP): Provides access to research articles, news, and resources on physics.
• European Physical Society (EPS): Offers resources and publications related to various fields of physics.

7. Podcasts and Webinars

• Physics World Weekly: Discusses the latest developments and research in physics.
• The Infinite Monkey Cage: A BBC podcast that explores science topics, including physics, in an entertaining manner.
• Physics Frontline: Provides interviews and discussions with physicists about their work and current topics in physics.

8. Online Communities and Forums

• Reddit - r/Physics: A community for discussing physics topics and sharing resources.
• Physics Stack Exchange: A Q&A site for asking and answering questions related to physics.

9. Additional Educational Websites

• HyperPhysics: Offers a comprehensive resource on various physics topics, providing explanations and concept maps.
• Physics.org: A website by the Institute of Physics that offers resources, news, and educational materials for physics students.