Political Science Research Guide

1. Open Educational Resources (OER)

• OER Commons: A digital library offering a variety of open educational resources, including textbooks and course materials for political science.
• OpenStax: Provides free, peer-reviewed textbooks on subjects related to political science, such as American government and international relations.

2. Online Courses and Lectures

• Coursera: Offers free courses on political science topics from top universities. Auditing courses is usually free.
• edX: Provides free courses on various political science topics from institutions like Harvard, MIT, and Georgetown.
• MIT OpenCourseWare: Offers free lecture notes, exams, and videos from MIT’s political science courses.
• FutureLearn: Offers free courses on political science and related subjects.

3. Textbooks and Reference Materials

• Open Textbook Library: Offers free access to a variety of political science textbooks.
• Project Gutenberg: Provides free access to many classic texts on political theory and political science.

4. Research and Journals

• Google Scholar: A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly articles across various disciplines, including political science.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Contains free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including those focused on political science.
• PubMed Central (PMC): A free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature that also includes research articles related to political science.
• SSRN (Social Science Research Network): A repository for research papers and articles in the social sciences, including political science.

5. Interactive Learning Tools and Videos

• CrashCourse - Government and Politics: Offers engaging video tutorials on various topics in government and political science.
• Khan Academy - Government and Civics: Provides a comprehensive set of tutorials and exercises on U.S. government and civics.

6. Professional Organizations and Resources

• American Political Science Association (APSA): Offers a range of free resources, articles, and research updates for political science students and professionals.
• International Political Science Association (IPSA): Provides resources and publications related to various fields of political science.

7. Podcasts and Webinars

• The Political Science Review: A podcast that discusses current issues and research in political science.
• Talking Politics: A podcast that explores political issues and ideas with experts from the field.

8. Online Communities and Forums

• Reddit - r/PoliticalScience: A community for discussing political science topics and sharing resources.
• Political Science Stack Exchange: A Q&A site for asking and answering questions related to political science.

9. Additional Educational Websites

• The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER): Provides working papers and publications on various topics, including political economy.
• The Brookings Institution: Offers research and analysis on political science and public policy issues.
• Council on Foreign Relations (CFR): Provides articles, reports, and resources on international relations and political science.

10. Libraries and Archives

• Library of Congress: Offers access to a vast collection of documents and resources, including many relevant to political science.
• Internet Archive: Provides access to a vast collection of free books, including many on political science.