Physical Education Research Guide

1. Open Educational Resources (OER)

• OER Commons: A digital library offering a variety of open educational resources, including textbooks and course materials for physical education.
• OpenStax: Provides free, peer-reviewed textbooks on subjects related to physical education, such as biology and anatomy.

2. Online Courses and Lectures

• Coursera: Offers free access to courses on health, fitness, and physical education topics from top universities. Auditing courses is usually free.
• edX: Provides free courses on exercise science, nutrition, and health from institutions like Harvard and the University of Queensland.
• FutureLearn: Offers free courses on physical education and related subjects.

3. Textbooks and Reference Materials

• Open Textbook Library: Offers free access to a range of textbooks, including those on health, fitness, and physical education.
• Human Kinetics: Provides various free resources, including articles and excerpts from textbooks on physical education and kinesiology.

4. Research and Journals

• PubMed Central (PMC): A free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, including research articles on physical education.
• Google Scholar: A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly articles across various disciplines, including physical education.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Contains free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including those focused on physical education.

5. Interactive Learning Tools and Videos

• Khan Academy: Offers a variety of courses on human biology, anatomy, and physiology, which are essential for understanding physical education.
• YouTube - Fitness Blender: Provides free workout videos and fitness information.
• YouTube - The Body Coach TV: Offers free fitness tutorials and exercise programs.

6. Professional Organizations and Resources

• SHAPE America: Provides a range of free resources, articles, and guidelines for physical education teachers and students.
• American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM): Offers resources, research articles, and position papers on exercise science and physical education.
• National Institute of Health (NIH): Provides information and research on health, fitness, and exercise.

7. Government Resources and Guidelines

• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - Physical Activity: Offers guidelines, research, and resources on physical activity and fitness.
• President's Council on Sports, Fitness & Nutrition (PCSFN): Provides resources and guidelines on physical fitness and nutrition.

8. Podcasts and Webinars

• NASPE Podcast Network: Offers a series of podcasts related to physical education and health.
• Strength Running Podcast: Discusses topics related to running, fitness, and sports science.

9. Online Communities and Forums

• Reddit - r/Fitness: A community for discussing fitness, exercise, and physical education topics.
• Reddit - r/Education: A community for discussing educational topics, including physical education.

10. Additional Educational Websites

• PE Central: Offers lesson plans, assessment ideas, and professional development resources for physical education teachers.
• TeachPE: Provides resources on a wide range of physical education topics, including anatomy, fitness, and sports coaching.
• Human Kinetics: Offers articles, videos, and other resources on physical education, sports, and fitness.