Philosophy Research Guide

1. Open Educational Resources (OER)

• OER Commons: A digital library offering a variety of open educational resources, including textbooks and course materials for philosophy.
• OpenStax: Provides free, peer-reviewed textbooks that cover subjects foundational to philosophy studies, such as critical thinking and logic.

2. Online Courses and Lectures

• Coursera: Offers free access to numerous philosophy courses from top universities. Auditing courses is usually free.
• edX: Provides free courses on various philosophical topics from institutions like Harvard and MIT.
• MIT OpenCourseWare: Offers free lecture notes, exams, and videos from MIT's philosophy courses.
• Yale Open Courses: Provides free access to a selection of introductory philosophy courses from Yale University.

3. Textbooks and Reference Materials

• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: An authoritative and comprehensive resource on various topics in philosophy.
• Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Offers detailed articles on a wide range of philosophical topics and thinkers.
• PhilPapers: A comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers.

4. Podcasts and Videos

• Philosophy Bites: Features short interviews with leading philosophers on a variety of topics.
• The Partially Examined Life: A podcast that discusses philosophical texts and ideas in an accessible manner.
• Wireless Philosophy (Wi-Phi): Provides animated videos explaining philosophical concepts.
• CrashCourse Philosophy: Offers a series of engaging video lectures on various philosophical topics.

5. Research and Journals

• PhilSci Archive: An open access archive for preprints in the philosophy of science.
• Google Scholar: Useful for finding scholarly articles on philosophical topics.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Contains free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including those focused on philosophy.

6. Online Communities and Forums

• Reddit - r/philosophy: A community for discussing philosophical topics and sharing resources.
• Philosophy Stack Exchange: A Q&A site for discussing philosophy topics with other enthusiasts and scholars.

7. Libraries and Archives

• Project Gutenberg: Offers free access to many classic philosophical texts.
• Internet Archive: Provides access to a vast collection of free books, including many on philosophy.

8. Additional Educational Websites

• Academia.edu: Allows users to share research papers and access papers uploaded by other users, including many on philosophy.
• PhilEvents: A calendar of academic events and calls for papers in philosophy.

9. Philosophy Blogs and Online Magazines

• Philosophy Now: A magazine that features articles, essays, and reviews on philosophical topics.
• Aeon: Offers thought-provoking essays on philosophy and related subjects.