Engineering Research Guide

Educational Websites and Platforms
1. MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW): Offers free lecture notes, exams, and videos from a range of electrical engineering courses taught at MIT.
   - MIT OCW Electrical Engineering

2. Coursera: Provides free courses on electrical engineering topics from top universities, available to audit for free.
   - Coursera Electrical Engineering

3. edX: Hosts free online courses from universities like Harvard and Berkeley, including electrical engineering topics.
   - edX Electrical Engineering

4. OpenStax: Offers free, peer-reviewed, openly licensed textbooks, including those relevant to electrical engineering.
   - OpenStax Engineering

Video Lectures and Tutorials
1. YouTube Channels
   - Practical Engineering: Explains engineering concepts and infrastructure projects.
   - NPTEL: Offers video lectures from Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) on various electrical engineering topics.

2. Khan Academy: Provides tutorials on fundamental engineering concepts, which are useful for understanding electrical engineering principles.
   - Khan Academy Engineering

Simulation Tools and Software
1. PhET Interactive Simulations: Offers free interactive math and science simulations, including topics relevant to electrical engineering.

2. Bridge Designer: A free educational software for designing and testing virtual bridge structures.

Open Access Journals and Databases
1. Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Provides free access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals, including those in electrical engineering.

2. PubMed Central (PMC): Includes free articles on engineering topics intersecting with public health and environmental science.

3. arXiv: A repository of preprints in various fields, including electrical engineering.
   - arXiv Engineering

Professional Organizations and Resources
1. American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE): Provides access to various resources, including articles, webinars, and technical papers. Some content is freely accessible.
   - ASCE Free Resources

2. Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE): Offers a range of free resources and learning materials.

Study and Collaboration Tools
1. Quizlet: Allows students to create and share flashcards, quizzes, and study guides for electrical engineering topics.
   - Quizlet Electrical Engineering

2. StudyBlue: A platform for creating and sharing study materials, including notes and flashcards.

1. Open Educational Resources (OER)

• OER Commons: A comprehensive digital library of open educational resources, including textbooks and course materials for mechanical engineering.
• OpenStax: Offers free, peer-reviewed textbooks on subjects relevant to mechanical engineering, such as physics, mathematics, and more.

2. Online Courses and Lectures

• MIT OpenCourseWare: Provides free lecture notes, exams, and videos from MIT's mechanical engineering courses.
• Coursera: Offers free access to many courses on mechanical engineering and related subjects from top universities. Auditing courses is often free.
• edX: Similar to Coursera, offering free courses on mechanical engineering from institutions like MIT, Harvard, and others.
• Khan Academy: Provides a variety of courses on subjects foundational to mechanical engineering, such as physics and mathematics.

3. Textbooks and Reference Materials

• Bookboon: Offers free textbooks in various engineering fields, including mechanical engineering.
• Project Gutenberg: Provides free access to many classic engineering books and textbooks.
• Free Engineering Books: A repository of free downloadable engineering textbooks.

4. Research and Journals

• arXiv: A repository of research papers in physics, mathematics, and engineering. Many papers are available for free.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Contains free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including those focused on engineering.
• Google Scholar: A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly articles across various disciplines, including mechanical engineering.

5. Software and Simulation Tools

• MATLAB Online: Provides access to MATLAB, a key tool in engineering, though limited to trial versions.
• FreeCAD: An open-source parametric 3D CAD modeler useful for product design.
• SimScale: Offers free access to simulation tools for engineering applications.

6. Interactive Learning Tools and Videos

• YouTube - Learn Engineering: Offers engaging video tutorials on various mechanical engineering topics.
• Coursera - Mechanics of Materials: A course offered by Georgia Tech, available for free auditing.
• NPTEL (National Programme on Technology Enhanced Learning): Provides free video courses and web content for mechanical engineering and other subjects.

7. Professional Organizations and Resources

• American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME): Offers resources, publications, and news related to mechanical engineering.
• Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE): Provides access to articles, research, and professional development resources.

8. Standards and Technical Documents

• International Organization for Standardization (ISO): While many standards are paid, some are available for free or at a discount for students.
• National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST): Provides free access to a variety of engineering standards and guidelines.

9. Math and Physics Resources

• Paul’s Online Math Notes: Provides free tutorials and notes on various math subjects, including those relevant to mechanical engineering.
• Physics Classroom: Offers tutorials, problem sets, and interactive simulations in physics.

10. Online Communities and Forums

• Reddit - r/engineering: A community where users can ask questions and share resources related to engineering.
• Engineering Stack Exchange: A question-and-answer site for engineering professionals and students.

11. Additional Educational Websites

• Brilliant.org: Offers interactive learning in math and science through problem solving and guided exercises (some content is free).
• Wolfram Alpha: An online computational engine that provides answers and explanations to mathematical and engineering queries.