English Research Guide

Literature Resources
1. Project Gutenberg
   Offers over 60,000 free eBooks, including many classic works of literature that are often studied in college courses.

2. Bartleby
   Provides access to classic literature, including prose, poetry, and reference works.

3. Internet Archive
   A digital library offering millions of free books, including many literary works.

4. Literature.org
   Hosts classic literature that is freely accessible, including full texts of many novels, plays, and poems.

5. Librivox
   Provides free audiobooks of public domain literature, which can be helpful for auditory learners.

Composition Resources
1. Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
   Offers comprehensive writing resources, including guides on grammar, style, research, and citation.

2. Grammarly Handbook
   Provides detailed information on grammar rules and writing tips.

3. Hemingway Editor
   A free online tool that helps improve writing clarity by highlighting complex sentences and common errors.

4. Thesaurus.com
   An extensive thesaurus that helps with finding synonyms and enhancing vocabulary.

5. ReadWriteThink
   Provides free resources in reading and language arts instruction, including lesson plans and interactive tools.

General Academic Resources
1. Khan Academy
   Offers free educational resources, including courses in grammar, writing, and literature.

2. MIT OpenCourseWare
   Provides free course materials from a wide range of MIT's courses, including literature and writing.

3. Coursera
   Offers free courses from universities around the world, including many on English literature and composition (note: some courses may require payment for certification).

4. edX
   Hosts free courses from top universities, including subjects on English literature and writing (note: some courses may require payment for certification).