Communications Research Guide

Online Courses and Lectures
1. Coursera - Offers free courses on topics like media ethics, digital media, and journalism. Look for courses provided by reputable universities.
   - Journalism and Freedom of Expression (University of Gothenburg)
   - English for Journalism (University of Pennsylvania)

2. edX - Provides free courses on media literacy, journalism, and communication theory.
   - Media Ethics & Governance (University of Amsterdam)

Educational Websites and Resources
1. BBC Academy - Offers free resources on journalism, production, and digital skills.

2. Poynter Institute - Provides a wide range of free resources and webinars on journalism and media ethics.

3. Nieman Lab - Offers articles and research on journalism innovation and trends.

4. MediaShift - Covers the intersection of media and technology, providing insights into the latest trends in digital media.

Journals and Articles
1. Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - Provides access to many academic journals in the field of communication and media studies.

2. Google Scholar - A good place to find academic articles and papers on various topics in mass communication.

3. Project MUSE - Offers free access to some journals and articles related to media and communication studies.

Online Communities and Forums
1. Reddit - Subreddits like r/Journalism, r/PublicRelations, and r/MediaStudies provide a platform for discussion and resource sharing.
   - r/Journalism
   - r/PublicRelations
   - r/MediaStudies

2. Quora - Follow topics related to mass communication and participate in discussions with professionals and academics.
   - Quora Mass Communication

E-Books and Publications
1. Google Books - Provides previews and sometimes full access to books on mass communication.

2. Project Gutenberg - Offers free e-books, including some classic texts in communication theory and media studies.

3. Open Library - An initiative of the Internet Archive, offering free access to many books.

Professional Organizations and Resources
1. Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) - Offers free resources and guides on journalism practices.

2. Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) - Provides resources, case studies, and webinars on public relations.

3. American Press Institute - Offers research, reports, and tools on journalism and media.