A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers can find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Pro and con articles on controversial issues. Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Draws on the Greenhaven Press series. Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
More than 170 unique titles related to African American life and culture
Approximately 60,000 pages of searchable primary source content
Reports and annuals from African American religious organizations and social service agencies, as well as African American periodicals
Extensive coverage of African American religious organizations, churches and institutions
Here you will find one of the greatest historical atlases: Charles O. Paullin and John K. Wright's Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States, first published in 1932. This digital edition reproduces all of the atlas's nearly 700 maps. Many of these beautiful maps are enhanced here in ways impossible in print, animated to show change over time or made clickable to view the underlying data—remarkable maps produced eight decades ago with the functionality of the twenty-first century.
The Bill of Rights Institute is a civic education organization with a network of over 50,000 history and civics educators, thousands of classroom-ready history and civics resources and annual student and teacher programming.
Biography Reference Center provides thousands of reliable full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography Today and Biography, plus narrative biographies not available in other databases.
This website gives you access to millions of books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for. The European Library is an Internet service that allows access to the resources of 49 European national libraries and an increasing number of research libraries. Searching is free and delivers metadata records as well as digital objects, mostly free of charge. The objects come from institutions located in countries which are members of the Council of Europe and range from catalogue records to full-text books, magazines, journals and audio recordings. Over 200 million records are searchable, including 24 million pages of full-text content and more than 7 million digital objects. Thirty five different languages are represented among the searchable objects. Public access.
The European Library (TEL) was launched by the Conference of European National Librarians (CENL) in 2004 as the union catalogue of European national libraries and then became a web portal and open data hub for national library data in Europe. Its success led to the European Commission asking CENL to set up what later became Europeana. The European Library disseminated library data in a variety of ways to promote its wider use. TEL was the biggest provider to Europeana, a digital platform for cultural heritage funded by the European Commission.
Europeana is a web portal created by the European Union containing digitalised museum collections of more than 3,000 institutions across Europe. It includes records of over 10 million cultural and scientific artefacts, brought together on a single platform and presented in a variety of ways relevant to modern users.
The Europeana Foundation is the governing body of the service, and is incorporated under Dutch law as Stichting Europeana. Public access.
Electronic newsstand of magazine and journals such as Time, U.S. News and World Report including title s of Art and Design, Business, Politics, History, Literary Science and Technology.
Flipster offers an easy, browse-able reading experience. Users can browse magazines by category as well as perform searches for specific periodicals. An online newsstand provides a carousel of the most recent issues, as well as a carousel of all issues allowing for quick access to magazines. The table of contents contains links for quick access to articles of interest and hotlinks within magazines are hyperlinked.
Art and Design, Business, Politics, History, Literary Science and Technology.
Flipster video tutorial https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/Flipster-on-Desktop-Computers-Tutorial?language=en_US
Includes schools, yearbooks, population statistics, tribes, treaties, photographs, rolls, reports, letters, demographics, health, agriculture and sports 1720-1930.
The National Archives Office of Innovation partnered with the Indigenous Digital
Archive project of the Museum of Indian Arts and Culture, Santa Fe, to provide context about and connection to the National Archives' holdings of the Ratified Indian Treaties, newly conserved and scanned for the first time thanks to the generous gift of an anonymous donor. Public access.
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
Art, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Biographies, Recipes, Romance, older textbooks, children, history, medicine, religion, history, mystery and detective, plays, music, science books available for checkout with once a free account is set up with Internet Archive.
To date, we have gathered over 20 million records from a variety of large catalogs as well as single contributions, with more on the way. Public access.
Project Muse has over 62,000 full text eBook and scholarly articles on art, business, English, humanities, history, music, LGBTQ, philosophy, psychology, sociology, health sciences, , technology, and biographies from university press publications. Video research tutorials https://about.muse.jhu.edu/instructors/course-content/
Alternate Name(s):Most Smithsonian digital eBooks are in the Public Domain unless otherwise noted, and are therefore free to download, use, re-use, and re-mix without regard to copyright.
eBooks on science, arts, humanities and history. Most Smithsonian digital eBooks are in the Public Domain unless otherwise noted, and are therefore free to download, use, re-use, and re-mix without regard to copyright. Public access.
Contains millions of digital images in the public domain as creative commons zero that can be used transformed and shared without asking permission from the Smithsonian. Includes 2D and 3D images, audio files, lesson plan builders, researched datasets and developer tools from 1846 forward. Public access.
Streaming movies and TV shows, with thousands of titles in dozens of genres, feature films, documentaries, news programs, dramas, comedies, nostalgia TV, crime, indie, sci-fi, romance, crime drama etc...
Alternate Name(s):Pamphlets, Congressional Record Daily Digest
Federal Register Table of Contents, House Calendar, Senate Calendar, Presidential Documents, Congressional Bills All, Commissions, Panels, Committees, Laws, Codes, Bills, Directories, U.S. Codes.
Bills and Statutes, Budget and Presidential Materials, Congressional Committee Materials, Congressional Rules and Procedures, Directories of Organizations and Officials, Executive Agency Publications, Independent Establishments and Government Corporations, Judicial Publications, Legislative Agency Publications
Proceedings of Congress and General Congressional Publications, Regulatory Information. Public access.