Research Guides: Agriculture Research Guide: Find Sources

Need assistance? Get in touch!

Phone: 931-540-2560

All-in-One Search: All Library Databases

Find Library Sources

Ready to dive into articles and books?

Try All-in-One Search: All Library Databases

Browsing for Books

Looking for print books and prefer to browse the shelves? CSCC Library uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize our books. The LCC system uses multiple layers of subject categories, as well as author information, and codes the information with letters and numbers. For more information, take a look at the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

Agriculture (general): Most books about the overall study of agriculture are in the S section. One example is S451.I8 F37 2004 (Farming for Us All: Practical Agriculture & the Cultivation of Sustainability by M. Bell)
Agricultural business: Most books about agricultural business are in the HD1401-2210 section. One example is HD1415 .P3765 2009 (A Billion Dollars a Day: The Economics and Politics of Agricultural Subsidies by E. W. F. Peterson)
Animal science: Most books about animal science are in the SF section. One example is SF105 .T87 2010 (Animal Breeding, Welfare and Society by J. Turner)
Plant science: Most books about plant science are in the SB section. One example is SB123.57 .E68 2011 (Environmental Safety of Genetically Engineered Crops by R. Grumet)
Soil science: Most books about soil science are in the S590-599.9 section. One example is S591 .S7575 2013 (Soils and Human Health by E. C. Brevik and L. C. Burgess)

Databases

Here's a link to the complete list of Columba State Library's databases:

A-Z Databases

Some options for broad, multidisciplinary databases are:

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers can find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
https://support.gale.com/doc/aone-video1
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Library's largest database. News and periodical articles on most topics with millions of articles in full-text. A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Pro and con articles on controversial issues. Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Draws on the Greenhaven Press series. Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Full-length streaming videos on many topics.

Some options for agriculture databases are:

Agriculture Collection This link opens in a new window
More than 400 titles on agriculture and related fields and 20+ Delmar reference titles.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text articles for biology, agriculture and related.
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 800 journals and 6 subject specific Delmar reference titles provide robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 3.6 million articles from more than 100 journals, as well as more than 20 reference titles from Delmar, including Handbook of Flowers; Foliage and Creative Design; Computer Graphics for Landscape Architects; and more