This is the "Theater and Acting" page of the "Theater and Acting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Theater and Acting  

Last Updated: Sep 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.columbiastate.edu/theatre Print Guide RSS Updates

Theater and Acting Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Sources - Electronic

For key concepts, brief topic overviews, background information from sources such as dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, gazetteers, handbooks, and statistical compilations

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Oxford Premium Reference eBooks

 

Books - Print

Library Catalog

Examples of searches in the online catalog:

Author: Williams Tennessee
Title: Cat on a Hot Tin Roof
Subject: Theater History
Keyword Anywhere: theater costume
Call No.: PS3545 I5365 C37 1975
Command Search: theater AND costume

Most theater titles are in the PN’s. 

 

Featured Book - Print

Cover Art
Showtime - Larry Stempel
Call Number: ML1711.8.N3 S73 2010 Columbia Main
ISBN: 9780393067156
Publication Date: 2010-09-06

 

Databases for Theater and Acting Topics

Library databases primarily contain journal and newspaper articles but may also include books, media, reference items, and more.

To log into the databases on campus or at home, you will enter your campus (PVT) username and password.

Biography

 

Reference Books - Print

Useful reference books in print in Columbia Reference section:

Drama Criticism  (Ref. PN1601 D59)  Biographical and critical information on the most widely studied dramatic works of world literature

Critical Survey of Drama  (Ref. PN1625 C74)  Essays examine representative plays and themes employed by more than 170 dramatists from Aeschylus to 20th century

Cambridge Guide to Theatre  (Ref. PN2035 C27 2000)  see also other guides and handbooks in ref

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture  (Ref. E169.1 .S764 2000)  Includes some theatrical info

American Decades  (Ref. E169.12 .A419 1994)  Each volume includes section on arts for each decade of  20th century

Best Databases for Streaming Video

 

Citing Sources

MLA Examples from Purdue University
APA Examples from Purdue University
MLA Examples from Ohio State University
APA Examples from Ohio State University
Print copies of the MLA Style Manual are on reserve in Columbia, Franklin, and Lawrenceburg.  A print copy of the APA Style Manual is on reserve in Columbia.  
Most library databases will show how to cite articles in MLA and APA style.  Consult the librarian.

 

Library Help

Phone: 931-540-2560

Email: library@columbiastate.edu

In person: during regular library hours

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip