This is the "Sociology" page of the "Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Key library resources in sociology
Last Updated: Sep 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.columbiastate.edu/sociology Print Guide RSS Updates

Sociology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Sources - Electronic

For key concepts, brief topic overviews, background information from sources such as dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, gazetteers, handbooks, and statistical compilations

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Oxford Premium Reference eBooks

 

Books - Print

Library Catalog

Books in the Columbia library are delivered as needed to other locations.  Click the "Make a Request" link for the specific book you need from another location, or consult with the library staff at your location.

 

Featured Book - Print

Cover Art
At Home on the Street - Jason Adam Wasserman; Jeffrey Michael Clair
Call Number: HV4505 .W26 2009 (Columbia and Franklin)
ISBN: 9781588267252
Publication Date: 2009

 

Databases for Sociology Topics

Library databases primarily contain journal and newspaper articles but may also include books, media, reference items, and more.

To log into the databases on campus or at home, you will enter your campus (PVT) username and password.

Pro and Con Topics

 

Citing Sources

MLA Examples from Purdue University
APA Examples from Purdue University
MLA Examples from Ohio State University
APA Examples from Ohio State University
Print copies of the MLA Style Manual are on reserve in Columbia, Franklin, and Lawrenceburg.  A print copy of the APA Style Manual is on reserve in Columbia.  
Most library databases will show how to cite articles in MLA and APA style.  Consult the librarian.

 

Library Help

Phone: 931-540-2560

Email: library@columbiastate.edu

In person: during regular library hours

 

There's an app for that!

Do you prefer to use your mobile device to read articles?  Then download the Gale Access My Library app or the Ebsco app. These two publishers provide many of our databases, so you can now search library databases and read articles on your favorite device.  If you do not receive the Gale email in your Outlook mailbox, contact the library for the password.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip