This is the "Film Studies" page of the "Film Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Film Studies  

Last Updated: Sep 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.columbiastate.edu/film_studies Print Guide RSS Updates

Film Studies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Sources - Electronic

For key concepts, brief topic overviews, background information from sources such as dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, gazetteers, handbooks, and statistical compilations

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Oxford Premium Reference eBooks

 

Books - Print

Library Catalog

Examples of searches in the online catalog:

Author: Kael Pauline
Title: Citizen Kane Book
Subject: Motion Pictures United States History
Keyword Anywhere: Orson Welles
Call No.: PN1997 .C5117
Command Search: Orson AND Welles

Most film studies titles are in the PN’s. 

 

Featured Book - Print

Cover Art
The Hollywood Film Musical - Barry Keith Grant
Call Number: PN1995.9.M86 G68 2012 Columbia Main
ISBN: 9781405182539
Publication Date: 2012-04-23

 

Databases for Film Studies Topics

Library databases primarily contain journal and newspaper articles but may also include books, media, reference items, and more.

To log into the databases on campus or at home, you will enter your campus (PVT) username and password.

Biography

 

Reference Books - Print

Useful reference books in print in Columbia Reference section:

PN1993 M4334

Motion Picture Guide
Covers silent through 1984 plus annual volumes
for 1986, 1987, 1988, 1999

PN1993.45 M3

Magill’s Survey of Cinema 
English Language films

PN1993.45 M32

Magill’s Survey of Cinema 
more English Language films

PN1993.45 M34

Magill’s Survey of Cinema 
Foreign Language films

PN1995 M3

Magill’s Survey of Cinema 
Silent films

Best Databases for Streaming Video

 

Library Help

Phone: 931-540-2560

Email: library@columbiastate.edu

In person: during regular library hours

 

Citing Sources

MLA Examples from Purdue University
APA Examples from Purdue University
MLA Examples from Ohio State University
APA Examples from Ohio State University
Print copies of the MLA Style Manual are on reserve in Columbia, Franklin, and Lawrenceburg.  A print copy of the APA Style Manual is on reserve in Columbia.  
Most library databases will show how to cite articles in MLA and APA style.  Consult the librarian.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip